BLACK SABBATH - Artisan News Reviews 13; Video Streaming

April 12, 2013, 4 years ago

hot flashes news black sabbath

Artisan News was among the 60 people at the listening party for the new BLACK SABBATH album, 13, set for a June release, and have issued their track-by-track review of the eight songs that comprise the album. Watch the clip below:

Black Sabbath Online received a report from an individual who attended the Black Sabbath 13 listening party, which was held at The Montalban Theatre in Los Angeles, California on April 10th.

Specific track remarks:

'End Of The Beginning' (8:07). Too long a track for an opener but otherwise very good. Very heavy. Ozzy’s vocals don’t evoke dragons and knights and the soaring evil of Dio…rather, they have a melodic but, unsettling quality to then. Not operatic bombast, but understated, melodic eeriness. But it works. This is not the uninspired songwriting of those two songs from the Reunion album — this is real songwriting with some good riffs from Iommi. A very good song.

'God Is Dead?' (8:54). This song slays. Very cool riffing and a good melody line. The B section is evocative of the Holy in the Sky riff but it still works really well. This is an excellent song, worthy of standing with anything in the Ozzy catalog (thought it lacks the instant memorability of Iron Man or Paranoid).

'Loner' (5:06). Sounds a LOT like a heavy, modern-production version of NIB (I even sang 'Oh yeah' after the appropriate riff). Lyrically and mood-wise it mixes in some Johnny Blade. It’s a good song, but not as good as the previous ones.

'Zeitgeist' (4:28). Mellow, and somewhat evocative of 'Planet Caravan'. It’s fine, but I anticipate skipping this on CD.

'Age of Reason' (7:02). This song kills. My notes (again, scratched in there by keys) are unintelligible. But this one had people pretty fired up.

'Live Forever' (4:49). Has a 'Children Of The Grave' / 'Hole In The Sky' feel once again. A good song, if not as ambitious as some of the others.

'Damaged Soul' (7:43). Very heavy blues. Too bluesy for my tastes. Blues blues and more blues, and when you are done with the blues, it shoves another does of blues up your ass. This is overstated — it’s plenty heavy. It just is too (wait for it) bluesy for my tastes. Others enjoyed it more than me. Still, this is not a throwaway, just not one of my favorites.

'Dear Father' (7:06). A great song to finish with, again quite heavy with a lot of energy. The B section is the one featured in the video with Rubin telling Ozzy to try again (“…the victims of the sins you devise.”) The main section is beefier than that part. There is a recurrent tritone riff that is very evocative of the first notes played in the song Black Sabbath. It’s so evocative that one wonders if it’s purposeful…and the riffs appears again at the very end of the song…and then the song ends…with rain…and church bells. Very cool. Very cool indeed.

The official artwork for 13, can be viewed below and in the YouTube clip introduction you can hear a snippet of a new song:

13 was recorded primarily in Los Angeles and features the original Black Sabbath - Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), Tony Iommi(guitar) and Geezer Butler (bass) - who were joined at the sessions by drummer Brad Wilk (RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE). Produced by Rick Rubin (SLAYER, METALLICA), the album will be released on Vertigo (worldwide) and Vertigo/Republic in North America on June 13th.

13 is available for pre-order on a variety of formats via

Options include:

- Standard CD album
- Deluxe double CD album in a deluxe soft-pack (includes a second disc of exclusive bonus audio material)
- Vinyl: a 12” heavyweight (180g) vinyl album in a gatefold sleeve
- Super Deluxe Box Set: a Limited edition 12” clamshell box set which contains: Deluxe double CD album, 12” heavyweight (180g) vinyl album in a gatefold sleeve, Exclusive DVD containing Black Sabbath--The Re-union documentary, plus 5 behind-the-scenes videos, Download card containing exclusive track by track interview with Black Sabbath, 13 exclusive photographic prints and hand written album lyrics.

In addition, anyone who pre-orders any of these formats via will be entered into a drawing to win a pair of VIP tickets to an official 13 album launch event in London, including a meet and greet with the band, flights and accommodation Additional details and full terms and conditions on the contest can be found at

In the video below, Rick Rubin talks about creating the group's first studio album since 1978’s Never Say Die!

A three-minute teaser can also be viewed below:

Current Black Sabbath dates are below:


20 - Vector Arena - Auckland, New Zealand
22 - Vector Arena - Auckland, New Zealand
25 - Brisbane Entertainment Centre - Brisbane, Australia
27 - Allphones Arena - Sydney, Australia
29 - Rod Laver Arena - Melbourne, Australia


1 - Rod Laver Arena - Melbourne, Australia
4 - Perth Arena - Perth, Australia
7 - Entertainment Centre - Adelaide, Australia
12 - Ozzfest at Makuhari Messe - Chiba-shi, Chiba, Japan


14 - Air Canada Center - Toronto, ON


20 - Hartwall Arena - Helsinki, Finland
22 - Friends Arena - Stockholm, Sweden
24 - Telenor Arena - Oslo, Norway
26 - Forum - Denmark, Copenhagen
28 - Ziggo Dome - Holland, Amsterdam
30 - Westfalenhalle - Dortmund, Germany


2 - Bercy - Paris, France
5 - Fiera Arena - Milan, Italy
7 - 02 Arena - Prague, Czech Republic
10 - 02 Arena - London, UK
12 - Odyssey Arena - Belfast, Ireland
14 - Arena - Sheffield, UK
16 - Hydro - Glasgow, UK
18 - Arena - Manchester, UK
20 - LG Arena - Birmingham, UK

Featured Audio

GRANNY 4 BARREL - "Freak Flag"

GRANNY 4 BARREL - "Freak Flag"

Featured Video

POWER QUEST - "Lords Of Tomorrow"

POWER QUEST - "Lords Of Tomorrow"

Latest Reviews