COFFINS Launch 'The Vacant Pale Vessel' Lyric Video

May 16, 2013, 6 years ago

hot flashes news coffins

The fourth album from Japan’s death/doom metal kings COFFINS will finally arrive this summer in the form of The Fleshland, the band’s maiden LP under the banner of Relapse Records.

The first whiff of The Fleshland is permeating the air today, as the label has exhumed the first single from the album. Constructed for the massive more than six-and-a-half minute 'The Vacant Pale Vessel', the lyric video animates the gorestrewn cover illustration of The Fleshland as executed by the gruesome hands of Chris Moyen.

The Fleshland will be the first proper studio album from Coffins since their commended Buried Death album, released by 20 Buck Spin in 2008, undoubtedly making it one of the most awaited death/doom albums of 2013. Recorded late 2012/early 2013 at Tokyo’s Noise Room Studio with engineer Shigenori Kobayashi, and produced by Bungo Uchino and the rest of Coffins, The Fleshland shows the revamped and expanded band lineup smashing down everything in their path, having upped the lineup from a trio to a quartet with a new drummer and full-time vocalist since Buried Death. Nine grisly numbers thunder with the unbeatable mid-paced Coffins stomp, laying down over forty-five minutes of bruising low-end sludge-infiltrated, plodding doom with possibly the best production values in the band’s meaty catalog of carnage.

Relapse will roll out The Fleshland via CD, download and mammoth 2xLP, the bloodsoaked opus now locked for a North American release date of July 9th. In addition, a deluxe black and white artwork edition on 2xLP, Cassette and CD will be made available only via Relapse direct.

The album’s cover art, created once again by Chris Moyen, can be seen below:

The Fleshland tracklisting:

'Here Comes Perdition'


'The Colossal Hole'

'No Saviour'

'The Vacant Pale Vessel'

'Rotten Disciples'


'The Unhallowed Tide'


Check out an album trailer below:

Coffins lineup:

Bungo Uchino - guitars/vocals

Takuya Koreeda - bass/vocals

Ryo Yamada - vocals

Satoshi Hikida - drums

More on Coffins at this location.

Featured Audio

JINJER - "On The Top" (Napalm)

JINJER - "On The Top" (Napalm)

Featured Video

Exclusive: WITHIN NOSTALGIA Premieres “Death Lifes’ Lover” Video

Exclusive: WITHIN NOSTALGIA Premieres “Death Lifes’ Lover” Video

Latest Reviews