COHEED AND CAMBRIA Release 'The Afterman' Video; Tour Schedule Updated

November 16, 2012, 4 years ago

hot flashes news coheed and cambria

COHEED AND CAMBRIA have released their video for 'The Afterman', from their new album, The Afterman: Ascension. Watch the new video below:

The band recently announced announced that as part of Record Store Day - Black Friday, The Afterman: Ascension (Big Beige Demos) will be available at participating record stores on Friday, November 23rd.

This exclusive Record Store Day release features the original Afterman track demos and cover drawing, on clear 12? vinyl, with the following tracks:

Side A:

'Domino The Destitute'

'The Afterman'

'Mothers Of Men'

'Goodnight, Fair Lady'

Side B:

'Holly Wood The Cracked'

'Vic The Butcher'

'Evagria The Faithful'


Find a participating record store here.

Coheed And Cambria’s sixth studio album, a double concept album entitled The Afterman, will be released in two separate full-length volumes. The first volume, The Afterman: Ascension, was released on both physical and digital platforms in the US on October 9th via Hundred Handed/Everything Evil, and distributed through Fontana/Ingrooves (in Canada via Universal Music Canada). The second volume, The Afterman: Descension is due in February, 2013.

The video below introduces a 9-part series taking you inside the concept of The Afterman: Ascension, as found in the Amory Award Deluxe Edition:

The band recently released a video for the track ‘Domino The Destitute’. Check it out below:

A deluxe version of the The Afterman includes a hardcover coffee-table book with expansive art by Heidi Taillefer and Nathan Spoor with collaborative written work from singer/creator Claudio Sanchez and writer Peter David that creates a song by song experience.

The two records follow-up to 2010's Year Of The Black Rainbow, and features new bassist Zach Cooper and returning drummer Josh Eppard, who have replaced Michael Todd and Chris Pennie respectively.

The concept albums are set in the band's alternate universe of Heaven's Fence, which are part of their series titled The Amory Wars. The Amory Wars is currently being developed by Mark Wahlberg and Stephen Levinson of Leverage Productions for a live-action feature film. It follows the story of a superhuman dictator named Wilhelm Ryan, and a family that may have the ability to free the world from his control.

The Afterman albums will focus on a character named Sirius Amory, a scientist who discovers an energy force that can connect the universe's 78 planets together.

Frontman Claudio Sanchez said of the album: "This is without a doubt, the most honest record I've ever written. Though all the songs can be interpreted through our main character in the story, they were initially written in a very spontaneous manner. In the past, I've always had a predetermined idea of what the story was going to be when I approached the songs. With The Afterman being a new story within The Amory Wars arc, I allowed the events of my life to drive the concept, and therefore opened up the songwriting to a fuller degree."

Coheed And Cambria have the following shows scheduled with THE DEAR HUNTER and 3:


29 - Kansas City, MO - The Midland Theatre
30 - Oklahoma, OK - Diamond Ballroom


2 - St Louis, MO - Pop's
3 - Springfield, MO - Gilloz Theatre
4 - Nashville, TN - Marathon Music Works

Coheed And Cambria have announced a string of North American tour dates in February, with BETWEEN THE BURIED AND ME and RUSSIAN CIRCLES.

North American tour dates with Coheed And Cambria (RUSSIAN CIRCLES open):


4 - Washington, DC - 9:30 Club
5 - Washington, DC - 9:30 Club
7 - Pittsburgh, PA - Stage AE
8 - Detroit, MI - The Fillmore
9 - Chicago, IL - Congress Theatre
10 - Minneapolis, MN - First Avenue
12 - Des Moines, IA - Val Air Ballroom
14 - Denver, CO - Ogden Theatre
15 - Salt Lake City, UT - SaltAir
17 - Portland, OR - Roseland Theater
18 - Vancouver, BC - Vogue Theatre
19 - Seattle, WA - Showbox SoDo
21 - San Francisco, CA - Warfield Theater
22 - Los Angeles, CA - The Wiltern
25 - San Diego, CA - House of Blues
26 - Tempe, AZ - The Marquee
27 - Albuquerque, NM - Sunshine Theatre


1 - Austin, TX. - Stubb's Waller Creek Outdoor Amphitheater
2 - Houston, TX - Bayou Music Center
3 - Dallas, TX - Palladium Ballroom
5 - Atlanta, GA - The Tabernacle
6 - St. Petersburg, FL - Jannus Live
7 - Lake Buena Vista, FL - House of Blues
8 - Miami, FL - The Fillmore
10 - Charlotte, NC - The Fillmore
11 - Philadelphia, PA - Electric Factory
14 - Boston, MA - House of Blues
16 - New York, NY - Radio City Music Hall

More on Coheed And Cambria at this location.

Featured Audio

MYRKUR - "Måneblôt” (Relapse)

MYRKUR - "Måneblôt” (Relapse)

Featured Video

METALITE - "Afterlife"

METALITE - "Afterlife"

Latest Reviews