Dario Mollo And Tony Martin Resurrect THE CAGE; Third Album Due In January, Audio Samples Available, Video Posted

November 16, 2011, 7 years ago

hot flashes news the cage

Frontiers Records has announced the release of the long awaited third album from THE CAGE, featuring Italian guitar-hero Dario Mollo (of VOODOO HILL fame) and ex-BLACK SABBATH singer Tony Martin.

The new album, entitled The Third Cage, will be released on January 20th, 2012 in Europe and January 24th in North America.

Dario Mollo and Tony Martin first got together when Mollo needed the right singer after he put together a new set of songs in the late 90s. Tony Martin came about on a suggestion from producer Kit Woolven (UFO, THIN LIZZY) with whom Dario Mollo had been working during his CROSSBONES years. Tony Martin wrote lyrics and melodies for the amazing tracks that Dario had already assembled, and thus The Cage was born.

The first album, released independently in 1999, gained a great success among the Hard Rock fans and the critics and Dario started finally to make himself a reputation over the international markets. This debut was later followed by an equally acclaimed second album in 2002.

Mollo has been very busy since then, releasing one more album with the Voodoo Hill project with GLENN HUGHES. He then toured Europe with GRAHAM BONNET and DON AIREY. After Don became a permanent DEEP PURPLE member, Dario and Graham Bonnet put up ELEKTRIC ZOO, touring Europe again, performing songs from RAINBOW, ALCATRAZZ, Voodoo Hill and The Cage. In 2008 Dario released an album with the more alt-rock Italian band NOIZE MACHINE, before getting again to work on a new set of hard rocking songs for a new record with Tony Martin.

“As usual we are 50/50 partners”, explains Mollo. “I write all the music and Tony then contributes with the melodies and lyrics. We also try together different structures of the tracks and we rearrange them to better fit the vocal parts. Then I go ahead and take care of the entire production of the album, tracking, mixing and mastering”.

The songwriting, the sound and the video production of this new project are absolutely stunning and show the great skills that Mollo has developed in the past few years. All hard rock lovers should simply not miss this record which bravely melts several influences in a cutting edge release.

“There are much better songs, performances and production on this album, plus we will finally bring this project live out there: we have a lot of great songs to perform to our loyal fans, we look forward to meet them”, concludes Dario Mollo.

The Third Cage will include the following tracks:

'Wicked World'

'Cirque Du Freak'

'Oh My Soul'

'Oh My Soul'

'One Of The Few'

'One Of The Few'

'Still In Love With You'

'Can’t Stay Here'



'Don’t Know What It Is About You'

'Blind Fury'

'Violet Moon'

'Wicked World' (video)

The first single, 'Wicked World', can be streamed in full on the Frontiers Records webradio at this location.

The video for the track can be seen below:

Featured Audio

LAST IN LINE – “Landslide” (Frontiers)

LAST IN LINE – “Landslide” (Frontiers)

Featured Video

PHEAR Guitarist GRAHAM STIRRETT Premieres “Masquerade” Lyric Video

PHEAR Guitarist GRAHAM STIRRETT Premieres “Masquerade” Lyric Video

Latest Reviews