DEVOLVED - Full 'Systematic Avenger' Track Streaming

October 3, 2012, 5 years ago

hot flashes news devolved

Australian / Los Angeles tech-metal masters DEVOLVED will unleash their fourth full length studio album world-wide on November 20th through Unique Leader Records. Titled Reprisal, the album includes 10 crushing new tracks and is once again led by founding member, drummer and lyricist John Sankey. Reprisal is the first release with guitarist Mark Hawkins and vocalist Mark Haggblad and is undoubtedly Devolved's most accomplished and innovative work to date with vastly superior songwriting and musicianship.

Reprisal tracklisting:

'Systematic Avenger'

'Accelerated Human Degeneration'

'Reprisal Of The Damned'

'Supremacy Enforced'


'Collateral Damage'

'Apocalyptic Visionary'

'Terminal Enslavement'

'Corrupted Mind Processor'

'Inanimate Infinity'

'(Cadence Of) The Dirge' (EXHORDER cover - bonus track)

The lead track, 'Systematic Avenger', is streaming below:

More audio samples can be heard below:

A lyric video for 'Supremacy Enforced' is below:

Sankey stated about the album: "I deliberately wanted to combine an organic death metal approach with more progressive and modern elements, while still incorporating a cold and futuristic soundscape which has always been a signature of our sound and concept. I had a very specific vision for this album and it is finally the definitive representation of what I have always wanted Devolved to be. After our last studio release, Oblivion, I decided to work on my own and wrote all the new song structures and arrangements in their entirety by tracking just drums and vocals myself. Once they were complete I recruited new guitarist Mark Hawkins who then wrote and recorded all the guitar and bass parts, his involvement really allowed us to push the boundaries of each track and took the music to a totally new level of speed and technicality. To say the guitar work on this Album is far beyond anything we have done before would be a huge understatement! New singer Mark Haggblad also brings a rejuvenated ferocity to the band, his relentless vocal delivery is extremely aggressive throughout each track while still maintaining a unique tone that fits the dynamics and diversity of the songs perfectly. It has been a renewed creative experience working with such focused and talented new members, and it has definitely allowed us to surpass anything the band has been capable of in the past. Reprisal is without doubt the album I have always strived to create since the formation of Devolved!"

The album also includes a cover of the EXHORDER classic 'Cadence Of The Dirge' as a bonus track, which was originally released on the Exhorder album The Law in 1992 via Roadrunner Records. Both Kyle Thomas (Exhorder vocalist) and Monte Conner (Roadrunner Senior VP) praised the band on their version of the song saying it is an “amazing cover, Devolved have more than done it justice!”. Also featured is a guest vocal appearance by Tony Campos (SOULFLY, PRONG, MINSTRY, etc.) plus blistering guest solos by a number of the most highly renowned guitarists in todays modern metal scene : Francesco Artusato (ALL SHALL PERISH), Nate Vennarucc (ONTOGENY, ANOMALOUS), Malcolm Pugh (DISKREET, A LOATHING REQUIEM) and Vishal Singh


John Sankey recently co-wrote and arranged all the drum parts alongside Dino Cazares for the newly released FEAR FACTORY album, The Industrialist. Sankey also assisted with writing material that is featured on the previous Fear Factory release Mechanize, as well as both DIVINE HERESY albums and the Roadrunner United All-Stars CD. Legendary metal fuitarist and songwriter Dino Cazares (Fear Factory, ASESION, Divine Heresy) recently posted this statement regarding the new Devolved material: "Systematic brutality at its best. Raising the bar once again with their intellectual song arrangements and insane drum patterns that would make any tech metal fan turn their heads. This band just keeps getting better and better. Welcome to the end of everything that you once knew and say hello to the future."

All music written and performed by John Sankey and Mark Hawkins. Vocals by Mark Haggblad. Lyrics and arrangement by John Sankey. Devolved's new singer, Mark Haggblad (UNVEIL THE STRENGTH), and new guitarist, Mark Hawkins (ROBOTS PULLING LEVERS) are featured on the new demo tracks.

Devolved previously released another new track, 'Collateral Damage' (demo version). Check it out in the widget below:

Digital Press Kits

Featured Audio

JUDAS PRIEST - "Lightning Strike" (Epic)

JUDAS PRIEST - "Lightning Strike" (Epic)

Featured Video

WHITE WIZZARD - "Infernal Overdrive"

WHITE WIZZARD - "Infernal Overdrive"

Latest Reviews