IRON MAN Set North American Release Date For South Of The Earth Album; 'Hail To The Haze' Track Streaming

August 29, 2013, 4 years ago

hot flashes news iron man

Maryland doom legends IRON MAN will release their fifth full-length album, South Of The Earth, in North America on October 1st via Metal Blade. The album is slated for a September 30th European release via Rise Above. Recording and mixing took place at Hudson Street Sound in Annapolis, Maryland with producer/engineer Frank Marchand III.

"Every time Iron Man goes into the studio, we treat it like a blank canvas. As things progress, the art form takes shape," says Al Morris on the band's creative process. "We wrote this album in about two months. Then we practiced our asses off to perfect the performance of the songs. This CD was done with Frank Marchand, an engineer/producer with a head full of ideas! He enhanced every element of this CD. We have great trust in Frank and followed his ideas. This is what came out!"

South Of The Earth tracklisting:

'South Of The Earth'

'Hail To The Haze'

'The Whore In Confession'

'The Worst And Longest Day'

'Aerial Changed The Sky'

'IISOEO (The Day Of The Beast)'

'Half-Face/Thy Brother's Keeper (Dunwich Pt 2)'

'In The Velvet Darkness'

'The Ballad Of Ray Garraty'

'Hail To The Haze':

Rising out of the same Maryland/DC mean streets as fellow US doom pioneers Pentagram and The Obsessed, Iron Man formed in 1988 as a BLACK SABBATH tribute band by guitarist Alfred Morris III, whose musical career began in 1977 with mysterious proto-doom cult FORCE. Al's legendarily heavy, unearthly guitar tone was already much in evidence on Force's ultra-rare 1981 debut EP - and it has only deepened, hardened, improved and refined in the ensuing 32 years.

Iron Man 2013 lineup:

Al Morris III - guitars

'Screaming Mad' Dee Calhoun - vocals

Louis Strachan - bass

Jason 'Mot' Waldmann – drums

For more details visit

Featured Audio

MYRKUR - "Måneblôt” (Relapse)

MYRKUR - "Måneblôt” (Relapse)

Featured Video

METALITE - "Afterlife"

METALITE - "Afterlife"

Latest Reviews