Jack Osbourne Interviews BLACK SABBATH At 13 Listening Party; Video

April 12, 2013, 7 years ago

hot flashes news black sabbath

Jack Osbourne, the son of BLACK SABBATH singer Ozzy Osbourne, has been filming the godfathers of heavy metal during the creation of their long-awaited new studio album, 13, the first since 1978's Never Say Die! Osbourne - who is also working for Fuse News - has filed a video report from the band's invite-only 13 listening party which was held this past Wednesday, April 10th at The Montalban in Los Angeles, California. In the report below, Sabbath singer Ozzy Osbourne, bassist Geezer Butler and guitarist Tony Iommi discuss their first album in 35 years:

When asked if there was any sort of trepidation about recording a new album, Ozzy replied, “The pressure was on us, because it had been so long since we’d worked together … it’s like now or never. This album, for me, was probably the most important of my career.”

Tony Iommi added about the writing process of 13: “I had a bunch of riffs on CDs and played it to everybody, and then everybody decided, ‘We like this one’ or ‘We don’t like that,’ and the ones we liked, we started work on them — built them up.”

Jack also asked Iommi if they had any apprehensions about working with legendary producer Rick Rubin (SLAYER, METALLICA): “It was funny at first, because coming to rehearsals, when we were actually writing the songs, he’d come down for like, five or ten minutes and then go. Then he’d go, ‘Call me when you’ve got another one.’ So it was really strange, we’d never worked with anybody like that before.”

13 clocks in at nearly 60 minutes and features the following tracks:

'End Of The Beginning' (8:07)

'God Is Dead?' (8:54)

'Loner' (5:06)

'Zeitgeist' (4:28)

'Age of Reason' (7:02)

'Live Forever' (4:49)

'Damaged Soul' (7:43)

'Dear Father' (7:06)

The official artwork for 13 can be viewed below, and in the YouTube clip introduction you can hear a snippet of a new song:

13 was recorded primarily in Los Angeles and features the original Black Sabbath trio with drummer Brad Wilk (RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE). Produced by Rick Rubin (SLAYER, METALLICA), the album will be released on Vertigo (worldwide) and Vertigo/Republic in North America on June 13th.

13 is available for pre-order on a variety of formats via Blacksabbath.com.

Options include:

- Standard CD album
- Deluxe double CD album in a deluxe soft-pack (includes a second disc of exclusive bonus audio material)
- Vinyl: a 12” heavyweight (180g) vinyl album in a gatefold sleeve
- Super Deluxe Box Set: a Limited edition 12” clamshell box set which contains: Deluxe double CD album, 12” heavyweight (180g) vinyl album in a gatefold sleeve, Exclusive DVD containing Black Sabbath--The Re-union documentary, plus 5 behind-the-scenes videos, Download card containing exclusive track by track interview with Black Sabbath, 13 exclusive photographic prints and hand written album lyrics.

In addition, anyone who pre-orders any of these formats via Blacksabbath.com will be entered into a drawing to win a pair of VIP tickets to an official 13 album launch event in London, including a meet and greet with the band, flights and accommodation Additional details and full terms and conditions on the contest can be found at Blacksabbath.com.

In the video below, Rick Rubin talks about creating the group's first studio album since 1978’s Never Say Die!

A three-minute teaser can also be viewed below:

Current Black Sabbath dates are below:


20 - Vector Arena - Auckland, New Zealand
22 - Vector Arena - Auckland, New Zealand
25 - Brisbane Entertainment Centre - Brisbane, Australia
27 - Allphones Arena - Sydney, Australia
29 - Rod Laver Arena - Melbourne, Australia


1 - Rod Laver Arena - Melbourne, Australia
4 - Perth Arena - Perth, Australia
7 - Entertainment Centre - Adelaide, Australia
12 - Ozzfest at Makuhari Messe - Chiba-shi, Chiba, Japan


14 - Air Canada Center - Toronto, ON


20 - Hartwall Arena - Helsinki, Finland
22 - Friends Arena - Stockholm, Sweden
24 - Telenor Arena - Oslo, Norway
26 - Forum - Denmark, Copenhagen
28 - Ziggo Dome - Holland, Amsterdam
30 - Westfalenhalle - Dortmund, Germany


2 - Bercy - Paris, France
5 - Fiera Arena - Milan, Italy
7 - 02 Arena - Prague, Czech Republic
10 - 02 Arena - London, UK
12 - Odyssey Arena - Belfast, Ireland
14 - Arena - Sheffield, UK
16 - Hydro - Glasgow, UK
18 - Arena - Manchester, UK
20 - LG Arena - Birmingham, UK

Featured Audio

FÉLETH – “Arise” (Deadpop)

FÉLETH – “Arise” (Deadpop)

Featured Video

ANONYMUS Premieres "Sobrevir"

ANONYMUS Premieres "Sobrevir"

Latest Reviews