JOE SATRIANI - Unstoppable Momentum Album Details Revealed; Pre-Order Launched

March 19, 2013, 4 years ago

news joe satriani riff notes

Guitar legend JOE SATRIANI confirms the release of his 14th studio album, Unstoppable Momentum, on May 7th through Epic Records. The album was recorded at Skywalker Sound in the Bay Area and produced by Satriani and Mike Fraser (AC/DC). The album features an amazing array of talented players including Vinnie Colauita (STING, JEFF BECK) on drums, Chris Chaney (JANE'S ADDICTION) on bass and on keyboards, Mike Keneally (DETHKLOK).

Fans are encouraged to pre-order Unstoppable Momentum via Sony Music and Satriani’s own website store. When pre-ordering through the Epic Records store here, fans will be given the chance to bundle new signed copies of the album with exclusive t-shirts and guitar straps. At, fans will receive an exclusive, never before seen art book featuring years of drawings, doodles and sketches that Satriani has done over the years.

“Some of my drawings have made their way on to guitars, straps and picks, LP and CD booklets, t-shirts, hats, keychains, etc... and even my live stage productions,” explains Satriani. “This book represents my first effort to finally compile my oddly drawn friends into one place, a wildly colorful portfolio of sorts. A collection of drawings meant to inspire and entertain.”

After returning from the South American G3 Tour last October, Satriani got down to writing new music over the next two months. As he recalls, “A very prolific and cathartic two months followed resulting in a bundle of new music I was very excited to get recorded!”

Eleven songs were selected to record, all “heading in different directions and touching on a variety of musical influences.” With that in mind, Satriani decided to assemble a new studio band. “The idea was to crank up the energy level of the sessions, and allow for more individual expression of the material from each player. The chemistry with Mike, Chris and Vinnie was fantastic and we blazed through all of the tracks with everyone laying down amazing performances.”

Unstoppable Momentum tracklisting:

'Unstoppable Momentum'

'Can’t Go Back'

'Lies And Truths'

'Three Sheets To The Wind'

'I’ll Put A Stone On Your Cairn'

'A Door Into Summer'

'Shine On American Dreamer'

'Jumpin’ In'

'Jumpin’ Out'

'The Weight Of The World'

'A Celebration'

Confirmed Joe Satriani tour dates include:


18 - KucukCiftlik Park - Istanbul, Turkey
20 - Sala Palatului - Bucharest, Romania
22 - Tvornica Kulture - Zagreb, Hungary
24 - Sava Centar - Belgrade, Serbia
25 - Cvetlicarna - Ljubljana, Slovenia
26 - Velvet Rock Club - Rimini, Italy
28 - Palapartenope - Napoli, Italy
29 - Atlantico Live - Roma, Italy
30 - Live Club - Milano, Italy
31 - Obihall - Firenze, Italy


1 - Gran Teatro Geox - Padova, Italy
3 - Grand Rex - Paris, France
4 - Cirque Royal - Brussels, Belgium
5 - O13 - Tilburg, Netherlands
6 - De Ooosterpoort - Groningen, Netherlands
8 - 02 Apollo - Manchester, England
9 - Royal Concert Hall - Glasgow, Scotland
10 - City Hall - Newcastle, England
11 - Philharmonic Hall - Liverpool, England
12 - Colston Hall - Bristol, England
13 - Civic Hall - Wolverhampton, England
15 - City Hall - Sheffield, England
16 - Guildhall - Portsmouth, England
17 - O2 Shepherds Bush Empire - London, England
18 - indogO2 - London, England
20 - Capitol - Hannover, Germany
21 - Jovel Music Hall - Munster, Germany
22 - Fabrik - Hamburg, Germany
23 - Columbiahalle - Berlin, Germany
24 - Haus Auensee - Leipzig, Germany
26 - Serenadenhof - Nurnberg, Germany
27 - E Werk Koln - Cologne, Germany
28 - Phonix-Halle Mainz - Mainz, Germany
29 - Theaterhaus - Stuttgart, Germany
30 - Tonhalle - Munich, Germany


2 - Big Box - Kempton, Germany
3 - Gasometer - Vienna, Austria
4 - Loket Amphitheatre - Loket, Czech Republic
6 - Stodola - Warsaw, Poland
9 - A2 - St. Petersburg, Russia
10 - Moscow Arena - Moscow, Russia
12 - KSK Express - Rostov-on-Don, Russia
13 - Arena Hall - Krasnodar, Russia

Satriani will be the featured guest on US nationally syndicated radio show Rockline with host Bob Coburn, on May 8th at 8:30 PM, PT/11:30 PM, ET.

Fans are encouraged to speak with Satch toll free at 1-800-344-ROCK (7625). For more information on finding a station near you and for information regarding how to log onto the internet broadcast go to The show will be streamed on the Rockline website for two weeks beginning the afternoon after the live broadcast.

Joe will embark on an Australian Masterclass Tour in April. Organizers remark: "Learn the tips and tricks that have made Joe Satriani a bona fide guitar hero. Tickets selling FAST!"

Dates include:


8 - Brisbane, Australia - Thump Music
10 - Sydney, Australia - Thump Music
13 - Melbourne, Australia - Thump Music
15 - Adelaide, Australia - Thump Music
17 - Perth, Australia - Thump Music

For more details visit

Featured Audio

MYRKUR - "Måneblôt” (Relapse)

MYRKUR - "Måneblôt” (Relapse)

Featured Video



Latest Reviews