METALLICA Take Ownership Of Their Masters Today; Band Launches New Record Label Blackened Recordings

November 30, 2012, 2 years ago

hot flashes news metallica

METALLICA have announced that they have taken ownership of all their master recordings, including all music and long form videos, a move almost unprecedented for musicians signed to recording contracts. Under provision of their renegotiated joint venture agreement with the Warner Music Group in 1994, all masters revert back to the band as of today, November 30th, 2012.
"We would like to thank everyone at the Warner Music Group for 28 years of a fantastic relationship, particularly since 1994 where we truly felt we had partners in every aspect of our business in North America," said the band's frontman, James Hetfield.
Metallica also announced the launch of their new record label, Blackened Recordings. Blackened Recordings was created by the band as a home for all of their recordings, both audio and visual, and anything else that suits them. Blackened Recordings will handle all marketing and promotion duties and will enter into a deal with Rhino Entertainment, who will manufacture and distribute its releases in North America. Blackened Recordings will license their releases to the Universal Music Group internationally.
"It's always been about control for us as a band," said Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich. "Forming Blackened Recordings is the ultimate in independence, giving us 100% control and putting us in the driver's seat of our own creative destiny." The first release from Blackened will be Quebec Magnetic. The Quebec Magnetic DVD / Blu-ray is due out on on December 7th in Germany, December 10th in Europe, December 11th in North America, and December 14th in New Zealand and includes 26 songs plus bonus material. Over three hours of footage recorded live at Colisée Pepsi in Quebec City, Quebec on October 31st, and November 1st, 2009. The official trailer has now been released and can be seen below:
Quebec Magnetic tracklisting: 'That Was Just Your Life' 'The End Of The Line' 'The Four Horsemen' 'The Shortest Straw' 'One' 'Broken, Beat & Scarred' 'My Apocalypse' 'Sad But True' 'Welcome Home (Sanitarium)' 'The Judas Kiss' 'The Day That Never Comes' 'Master Of Puppets' 'Battery' 'Nothing Else Matters' 'Enter Sandman' 'Killing Time' 'Whiplash' 'Seek & Destroy' Bonus Songs 'For Whom The Bell Tolls' 'Holier Than Thou' 'Cyanide' 'Turn The Page' 'All Nightmare Long' 'Damage, Inc.' 'Breadfan' 'Phantom Lord'
VARGA - "Three Section Staff" Video Premiere

VARGA - "Three Section Staff" Video Premiere

Latest Reviews