MIKE PORTNOY Checks In From FLYING COLORS Rehearsals For European Tour

September 2, 2012, 5 years ago

hot flashes news mike portnoy flying colors

Drummer Mike Portnoy (ADRENALINE MOB, ex-DREAM THEATER) has checked in with the following update:

"Well, FLYING COLORS tour rehearsals are underway...so far, so good! It's gonna be an amazingly fun and musical experience. I'm so excited to FINALLY get on stage with these guys! Looking forward to seeing you all at the shows. Obviously, the setlist is already written and currently being rehearsed. After Tuesday's first show, what we're playing will be all over the net, but before that happens, I'm curious: what are you hoping to hear at the shows?"

Respond to Portnoy via the thread found on his official Facebook page here.

Flying Colors' European tour schedule is as follows:


4 - Torrence, CA - James Armstrong Theater
6 - New York, NY - Best Buy Theater
9 - Hamburg, Germany - Markthalle

10- Berlin, Germany - Columbia Club

11 - Munich, Germany - Theaterfabrik
13 - Milan, Italy - Alcatraz
14 - Zurich, Switzerland - Volkhaus
15 - Stuttgart, Germany - Zapata
16 - Aschaffenburg, Germany - Colos Saal
17 - Cologne, Germany - Gloria
19 - Paris, France - La Trionon
20 - Tilburg, Holland - 013
21 - London, England - Shepherd's Bush Empire

BEARDFISH have been confirmed as support on all European dates.

In addition, the band recently issued the following message:

"Each month, we bring you inside a song from the debut album. In the first week, get an inside perspective of the song from some of the guys. The next week, you can post questions on our Facebook page. During the third week, a unique aspect of the song will be featured (we don’t want to spoil any surprises). In the final week, the guys will weigh in on ten questions selected from the Facebook page.

All the commentary and answers will be available here, exclusively on the FC website."

Check out the details behind the song 'Blue Ocean' provided by the band members at this location.

Portnoy: "I always knew 'Blue Ocean' would be a great album opener, and because of that, I remember having the idea of establishing the sound of all three vocals at the start of the album in this first song. Casey and Neal switched lead vocals on the verses and pre-choruses (Casey on V1 & PC2 and Neal on V2 & PC1) and then all three of us sang on the choruses and bridges.

I also had the idea of using the studio chatter to open the song/album in order to establish right away that this wasn’t some fly-by-night project done through email, but rather a REAL BAND working together in the studio to create something special that could only truly happen by human interaction and collaboration. (And I wanted to get Peter Collin’s voice in there as well!! Haha…)."

The formation of Flying Colors began with a simple idea: virtuoso musicians and a pop singer joining together to make new-fashioned music the old fashioned way. Refreshing, classic, old and new, the recordings are saturated with the many styles, tones and hues of the players who, in becoming a band, have delivered a unique fusion of vintage craftsmanship and contemporary music.

"The album has bits and pieces of what you'd expect from each of us,” says Portnoy. “The sum of all its parts led to brand new, unchartered territory for everyone involved."

"It was quite an experience,” recalls Dave LaRue. “The band moved at a fast pace, ideas flying around the room at all times. Sections of tunes were arranged, and then re-arranged. Ideas were tried every which way until we made them work, or, in some cases, discarded them altogether. Just keeping track of everything was a challenge!" The album is filled with trial and triumph. It's been an inspiring challenge melding folk, prog, pop, and metal all into one big recording."

Check out "making of" footage for Flying Colors' debut album below:

Featured Audio

JUDAS PRIEST - "Lightning Strike" (Epic)

JUDAS PRIEST - "Lightning Strike" (Epic)

Featured Video

WHITE WIZZARD - "Infernal Overdrive"

WHITE WIZZARD - "Infernal Overdrive"

Latest Reviews