PYRRHON Sign To Relapse Records; The Mother Of Virtues Album Out In Early 2014

September 27, 2013, 10 months ago

hot flashes news pyrrhon

Relapse Records has announced the signing of New York City avant-garde, technical death metal quartet PYRRHON (pronounced "peer-on"). Formed in 2008, Pyrrhon (Dylan DiLella - guitar, Erik Malave - bass, Alex Cohen - drums, Doug Moore - vocals) have released one EP (Fever Kingdoms - 2010) and one LP (An Excellent Servant But a Terrible Master - 2011) via The Path Less Traveled Records and Selfmadegod Records respectively. Both records can be streamed here.
Relapse will release the band's upcoming sophomore album, titled The Mother Of Virtues, in early 2014. A nightmarish blend of clanging death metal with surreal psychedelic elements, jazz rhythms, and delirious storytelling, The Mother Of Virtues was tracked and mixed by Ryan Jones (TODAY IS THE DAY, MUTILATION RITES, WETNURSE) at Saint Vitus Bar and The Sound City, Brooklyn in May and June 2013. The record was then mastered by Colin Marston (KRALLICE, GORGUTS) at The Thousand Caves Studios, Brooklyn, in August 2013. More album details will be revealed shortly. Vocalist Doug Moore commented on the signing: "When I was 15, I bought a copy of Relapse's Contaminated 5.0 sampler CD. Through it, I encountered SUFFOCATION, NEUROSIS, PIG DESTROYER, HUMAN REMAINS, and countless other great bands for the first time. We are thrilled and honored to work with a label whose output has done so much to drive metal forward, and which has meant so much to all four of us over the years." More on Pyrrhon at Facebook.
VARGA - "Three Section Staff" Video Premiere

VARGA - "Three Section Staff" Video Premiere

Latest Reviews