RAGNAROK Reveal New Album Details; Retrospective Release Announced

January 21, 2016, 3 years ago

news black death ragnarok

RAGNAROK Reveal New Album Details; Retrospective Release Announced

Iconic Norwegian black metallers, Ragnarok, have revealed the artwork and details of their eighth studio album. Titled Psychopathology, the 11-track album is set for release via Agonia Records on March 25th and is now available for pre-order via the label's webshop

Psychopathology was recorded at the Endarker Studio in Sweden with Marduk bassist Devo at the helm. Following last year's surprise announcement that Ragnarok founder and drummer Jontho would be stepping out from behind the drum kit to take on the role of frontman and Dauden’s Malignant would take his place on drums, the lineup on the album comprises Jontho on vocals, Bolverk on guitars, Malignant on drums, and, making his swansong appearance with the band, DezeptiCunt on bass.

Psychopathology tracklisting:

“Dominance And Submission”
“I Hate”
“My Creator”
“Infernal Majesty”
“Into The Abyss”
“The Eighth Of The Seven Plagues”
“Where Dreams Come To Die”

With artwork by the Brazilian graphic artist Marcelo Vasco (Slayer, Machine Head, Dimmu Borgir), Psychopathology will be available in Jewel Case CD and Limited Edition black vinyl formats, as well as in transparent brown vinyl with red, yellow, white and blue splatter, strictly limited to 133 hand-numbered copies. Additionally, Agonia will release a CD Box which will be limited to 666 copies and which will include Psychopathology in CD format, a logo pin, poster, booklet with rare photos and old interviews, and the bonus compilation CD Chaos And Insanity Between 1994-2004 (details of which can be found below ).

As mentioned above, in addition to Psychopathology, Ragnarok will also release a special compilation album titled Chaos And Insanity Between 1994-2004, which features a rare collection of the band's early demos and EPs. The compilation will be released on Agonia Records at the same time as Psychopathology and will also be available in Limited Edition black vinyl, as well as in a red vinyl version which will be limited to 133 hand-numbered copies.

Chaos and Insanity Between 1994-2004 tracklisting:

I.Pagan Land demo 1994
“Pagan Land”
“From The Darkest Deep”
“Et Vinterland I Nord”
“Hammerens Slag”

II.Various Unreleased tracks:
“Et Vinterland I Nord” (Ørevox version)
“Under The Wings Of Satan” (pre-production)
“Fainted Eyes” (Celtic Frost cover)
“Live 2004”

Jontho recently had this to say about fans can expect from Psychopathology: "I can say with absolute certainty that this album will be the best in Ragnarok's career to date. It is the result of dedication, hard work, and the musical skills of our lineup, and is the next stage in the band's development, both musically and lyrically. Psychopathology is about to unleash total chaos upon you as it invites you to dive deeper into the dark recesses of the human mind.”


Featured Audio

CANDLEMASS – “Astorolus – The Great Octopus” (Napalm)

CANDLEMASS – “Astorolus – The Great Octopus” (Napalm)

Featured Video

GETAWAY VAN - "Lord I've Been Running"

GETAWAY VAN - "Lord I've Been Running"

Latest Reviews