RAVEN Announce North American Tour; MPIRE OF EVIL To Support

July 10, 2013, 4 years ago

hot flashes news mpire of evil raven

NWOBHM legends RAVEN are embarking on a North American tour, which will coincide with the release of their documentary DVD, entitled Rock Until You Drop - A Long Day's Journey (SPV Records), which documents the band's almost 40 year career and highlights their high energy approach and influence on the development of thrash.

Joining them on the tour will be special guests and long time friends, MPIRE OF EVIL, which features ex-VENOM members Tony Dolan (DEMOLITION MAN) and Jeff Dunn (MANTAS) together with drummer JXN Jackson, marking their return to the US and Canada in support of their brand new album, Crucified (Cleopatra Records), out now in North America.

The tour will start in Fort Lauderdale, Florida on September 11th and end in Chicago, Illinois on October 1st. Raven will then continue on as double headliners on the DIAMOND HEAD tour, which will hit the West Coast in October.

Raven / Mpire Of Evil tour dates:


11 - TBA - Ft. Lauderdale, FL
12 - The Orpheum - Tampa, FL
13 - Tremont Music Hall - Charlotte, NC
14 - The MaYwood - Raleigh, NC
15 - Strong Matter - Richmond, VA
18 - St.Vitus - Brooklyn, NY
19 - The Brighton Bar - Longbreach, NJ
21 - The Gin Mill - North Hampton, PA
22 - Revolution - Amityville, NY
23 - L’Agitee - Quebec City, QC
24 - Katacombes - Montreal, QC
25 - The Forum - Buffalo, NY
26 - Wreck Room - Toronto, ON
28 - Token Lounge - Westland, MI
29 - Shrunken Head - Columbus, OH


1 - Reggies Live - Chicago, IL

From the well documented early days as NWOBHM frontrunners, Raven's albums Rock Until You Drop, Wiped Out And All For One virtually invented both the speed metal and power metal genres - during the trailblazing USA tours of the '80's introducing the States to 'athletic rock' as well as giving opening acts like METALLICA and ANTHRAX their first tours, through the doldrums of the late 80's/early 90's when a grunge obsessed media wrote off so many acts - Raven has consistently proved to be both survivors par excellence and in a genre of grim imitation - shown that they are "the real thing".

The unique personality, power and humor of the three band members has always shone through. The crazed vocals and bass playing of John Gallagher, the full frontal guitar assault of brother, Mark Gallagher, and the punishing polyrhythmic pounding of drummer, Joe Hasselvander, all combine to form a sonic battering ram unique in rock.

Rock Until You Drop / A Long Days Journey DVD will be released as a digipak via SPV/Steamhammer on the following dates:

Release dates:

Germany: June 21st

Europe: June 24th

US/Canada: July 2nd

Check out a photo of the packaging below:

Tracklisting DVD 1 (Documentary approximately 190 min):

The whole story featuring Live Concert footage, interviews and photos

- 14 songs from 1982 up to present 'Tyrant Of The Airways', 'Faster Than The Speed Of Light', 'Crash Bang Wallop', 'Take Control', 'On And On' and many more
- Exclusive interviews with: Lars Ulrich (METALLICA), Michael Wagener (producer), Dee Snider (TWISTED SISTER), Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT), Dave Ellefson (MEGADETH) and many more
- Slideshow
- Photos throughout the years

Tracklisting DVD 2:

Extras (approximately 90 min)

- 7 extra songs
- 5 full edits of songs 'Crazy World', 'Hellpatrol', 'Lambs To The Slaughter', 'Architect of Fear' and many more
- 19 min of extra footage, interviews and studio outtakes



Aspect Ratio: 16:9

Region Code: 0 (All)

Sound: 2.0 Dolby Digital

Length all: approx.: four hours, 30 minutes

Check out the official trailer below:

For more details on Raven visit Ravenlunatics.com.

Featured Audio

IRON MONKEY - "OmegaMangler" (Relapse)

IRON MONKEY - "OmegaMangler" (Relapse)

Featured Video

GOD Premiers “I Am”

GOD Premiers “I Am”

Latest Reviews