Roadrunner President Jonas Nachsin Steps Down

November 14, 2012, 2 years ago

hot flashes news

According to, in a surprise move, after more than 20 years at Roadrunner and 12 as president, Jonas Nachsin is stepping down from that post. A source told that new leadership will be announced within days. Nachsin's own exit letter to his staff, which Billboard has obtained, indicates that WMG and Atlantic Records' senior management want to ensure that the label remains an enduring brand. "I am so proud of what we have accomplished to showcase Roadrunner as not only a 'record company' but as a lifestyle and cultural beacon for fans around the globe," Nachsin wrote. "The chemistry of groundbreaking artists worked by a world-class group of truly committed employees has made Roadrunner a name with no equal over the years. That will continue." He closed by thanking "the great team here much success as they move forward into a new chapter for Roadrunner." His memo was followed by one from Atlantic co-chairmen Craig Kallman and Julie Greenwald, thanking him for his substantial contributions and years of dedication. "For two decades, Jonas has been a passionate champion of Roadrunner's incredible roster of artists and helped forge the unique identity of one of the world's great labels," the memo reads in part. "Everyone who has worked with Jonas -- including artists, managers, the Roadrunner team and the wider Warner Music family -- have all been touched by his commitment and leadership. He has been instrumental in the careers of so many extraordinary artists, from superstars including NICKELBACK and SLIPKNOT to breaking talents YOUNG THE GIANT and STONE SOUR. We will all miss Jonas and wish him the best in his next endeavor." In December 2006, the Warner Music Group announced that it had entered into a deal to acquire a 73.5% stake in Roadrunner Music for $73.5 million; the deal closed on January 30, 2007. At the time, the label employed about 100-120 people worldwide and had offices in eight countries. WMG fully acquired Roadrunner in November of 2010. After WMG assumed full ownership of the company, about 20 staffers were let go at the label's headquarters in the Netherlands as Warner assumed back-office support functions. About 36 staffers were let go in the April 2012 downsizing and most of the label's offices were shut. Current artists on the Roadrunner roster include DREAM THEATER, MACHINE HEAD, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, OPETH, RATT, RUSH, SLIPKNOT, SOULFLY, STONE SOUR and TRIVIUM.

Featured Audio

MAMMOTH MAMMOTH - "Electric Sunshine"

MAMMOTH MAMMOTH - "Electric Sunshine"

Latest Reviews