SANCTUARY Drummer Dave Budbill Talks New Album, Motivation Behind Reunion; Audio Interview Streaming

April 7, 2014, 3 years ago

hot flashes news sanctuary

Metal Wani editor-in-chief Owais 'Vitek' Nabi (alongside help from writer/correspondent Achintya Venkatesh) has issued a new interview conducted with drummer Dave Budbill of legendary Seattle metal band SANCTUARY. They discussed a variety of topics, including the nature and stylistic leanings of Sanctuary's forthcoming studio album, the band's thematic explorations, lineup changes and the motivations behind the reunion, among other topics.

Listen below:

In May 2013, Century Media Records announced the signing of the Sanctuary, featuring four founding members, Warrel Dane, Jim Sheppard (both ex- NEVERMORE), Lenny Rutledge and Dave Budbill. The band entered Jack Endino's Soundhouse Studios in Seattle, WA on February 2nd with producer Chris "Zeuss" Harris (HATEBREED, MUNICIPAL WASTE) to record their comeback album, The Year The Sun Died.

Warrel Dane, Jim Sheppard, Lenny Rutledge and Dave Budbill came together to for a few select reunion performances. At first, it was just going to be a handful of shows, but the response and chemistry on stage was so overwhelming, the guys changed their minds. Now, some 20 years after they left off, Sanctuary will continue with their unique mix of US power metal, hard rock and progressive elements and begin work on a new LP. To complete the line-up, Brad Hull (FORCED ENTRY) will be filling in for former guitar player Sean Blosi. A late 2013 release is planned.

Comments the band:

Warrel Dane: “Having been with Century Media since 1995 with Nevermore it was a very comfortable decision for Sanctuary to sign with them. Century Media has a great team that always delivers for all of their bands. I’ve known most of them on a first name basis for many years and I look forward to this new chapter in history.”

Lenny Rutledge: “I can speak for every member of Sanctuary when I say we are all excited to join the Century Media family. We now have the opportunity to work with the best metal record label on the planet. We are looking forward to creating great music with an awesome team behind us.”

Sanctuary released the classic albums Refuge Denied and Into The Mirror Black during their short existence between 1985 and 1992. Following the band’s dissolve, singer Warrel Dane and bassist Jim Sheppard formed Nevermore.

Sanctuary lineup:

Warrel Dane – Vocals

Lenny Rutledge – Guitars

Jim Sheppard – Bass

Dave Budbill – Drums

Brad Hull - Guitars

More on Sanctuary at this location.

Featured Audio

GRANNY 4 BARREL - "Freak Flag"

GRANNY 4 BARREL - "Freak Flag"

Featured Video

POWER QUEST - "Lords Of Tomorrow"

POWER QUEST - "Lords Of Tomorrow"

Latest Reviews