SOiL Announce January 2014 UK Tour Supporting SKINDRED

August 23, 2013, 4 years ago

hot flashes news skindred so uk

Chicago-based SOiL will hit the UK as direct support to reggae rockers SKINDRED starting January 22, 2014 at UEA in Norwich England. This tour will be the first UK tour in support of SOiL's sixth studio release, Whole, available now through Pavement Entertainment and AFM Records.

Whole is the first album to feature original vocalist Ryan McCombs since 2004's Re.De.Fine. A Russia and European tour will follow the UK dates.

"We are both excited and scared to tour the UK with Skindred" states SOiL bassist Tim King. "Excited because Skindred are great friends of ours and it's been long overdue to tour together again. Scared because Skindred are great friends of ours and we will definitely be in danger of having too much fun and getting in too much trouble together!"

The tour schedule is as follows:


22 - UEA - Norwich, United Kingdom
23 - Mo'Club - Southampton, United Kingdom
24 - Rock City - Nottingham, United Kingdom
25 - Wulfrun Hall - Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
26 - Empire - Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
27 - ABC - Glasgow, United Kingdom
29 - Leadmill - Sheffield, United Kingdom
30 - 02 Academy - Bristol, United Kingdom
31 - The Junction - Cambridge, United Kingdom


1 - The Forum - London, United Kingdom
2 - Academy - Manchester, United Kingdom

SOiL released their sixth studio album, Whole, on August 16th via AFM Records in Europe and the 20th via Pavement Entertainment in North America.

Whole is the first album with original frontman Ryan McCombs since 2004's RE.DE.FINE (after which he became DROWNING POOL’s lead singer). It sees Soil returning to its classic sound that fans have come to admire, calling it the album, "that could have come directly after the Scars album in 2001.”

Following the release of their first-ever live DVD in 2012, Re-Live-ing The Scars, Soil began writing new material and entered the studio in February 2013 with producer Ulrich Wild (PANTERA) to begin recording.

"This was by far the most comfortable and natural recording process we have ever experienced," says guitarist Adam Zadel. "From the writing, pre-production, and through the main tracking and mixing, everything was smooth and fluid."

Songs featured on Whole include 'The Hate Song', 'Loaded Gun', 'Way Gone', and the aforementioned 'Shine On', which is dedicated to the Soil fans for standing by the band throughout the years. Another track, 'Amalgamation', sees McCombs taking song titles from both the Soil and Drowning Pool releases he was a part of and weaving them into verses of the song.

“I think lyrically speaking, those that are familiar with the work I've done are going to get the next chapter that they would expect,” Ryan McCombs describes about the lyrical process. “Words from a heart and mind that has lived them. One of the greatest things I experience as a lyricist is when people come up and share with me how a song, or a specific verse or line from a song, got them through a hard time or times in their lives. It reminds me of the times music did that for me and how powerful music and/or a lyric can be in a person's life.”

Drums and percussion on Whole were performed by Will Hunt (BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, EVANESCENCE, DEVICE).

"Will added a whole new dimension to the songs," states bassist Tim King. "He added a monstrous and aggressive vibe to the album.”

A guest guitar solo on 'Wake Up' was also performed by longtime friend, Mike Mushok of the band STAIND.

More on Soil and their upcoming tour schedule at this location.

Featured Audio

MYRKUR - "Måneblôt” (Relapse)

MYRKUR - "Måneblôt” (Relapse)

Featured Video

METALITE - "Afterlife"

METALITE - "Afterlife"

Latest Reviews