SOILWORK Kick Off Fan Video Contest; Confirmed For Tuska Open Air 2013

January 23, 2013, a year ago

hot flashes news soilwork

Swedish melodic death metallers SOILWORK kick off a fan video contest today. Fans can express their creativity by creating their own video clip for either the song 'Spectrum Of Eternity' or 'This Momentary Bliss', upload it to YouTube, let their work be judged by the band and eventually get the chance to win - lifetime free entry to any Soilwork concert (except for festival shows) - a meet & greet with the band at the first concert - a premium The Living Infinite bundle, including the album as a digipak CD and on vinyl, plus a t-shirt Click here for further information on the contest and to download the songs with lyrics. The contest ends on March 1st.
Moreover, Soilwork are confirmed for this year’s Tuska Open Air Festival, taking place in Helsinki, Finland from June 28th – 30th. Frontman Speed comments: "We are really pleased to announce that Soilwork will return to Tuska Open Air Metal Festival this summer. It has almost been nine years, so it's definitely about time! The festival has grown a lot over the years and we can't wait to give the Tuska crowd one hell of a show and play some new songs from our upcoming double album The Living Infinite. Don't miss out on a killer festival and a killer show! Hope to see you there!“ Soilwork will release their long-awaited ninth new album and first dual-disc, The Living Infinite, on March 1st (Europe), March 4th (UK) and March 5th (North America) via Nuclear Blast. They recently discussed the album with Anna Dave Bertram at Sweden's Access: Rock. Check out the interview below: Produced by Jens Bogren (OPETH, AMON AMARTH, BLOODBATH), The Living Infinite features artwork by MNEMIC’s Mircea Eftemie Gabriel who shares: "Seven years ago, I created the artwork for the Stabbing The Drama album and I can’t believe how time flies! Here we are, with sexy gray hairs, working with my friends in SOILWORK again. This time, we built the cover around a maritime concept, aiming for something direct and symbolic. I believe we achieved that quite well. From my creative deck, I salute you and say: ‘Long Live The Living Infinite.’"
Soilwork adds: “After commissioning some pretty elaborate covers for the last couple of records, we decided to try something more sober and design-oriented for The Living Infinite. Who better to call than the man who created the iconic Stabbing The Drama cover? Mircea Gabriel Eftemie is not only a close friend but also an incredible graphic designer. We’re all stoked about his work which is different from anything Soilwork has ever done and perfectly suits the elegant oceanic concept of The Living Infinite. Enjoy folks!”
Tracklisting for The Living Infinite is as follows: CD 1 'Spectrum Of Eternity' 'Memories Confined' 'This Momentary Bliss' 'Tongue' 'The Living Infinite I' 'Let The First Wave Rise' 'Vesta' 'Realm Of The Wasted' 'The Windswept Mercy' 'Whispers And Lights' CD 2 'Entering Aeons' 'Long Live The Misanthrope' 'Drowning With Silence' 'Antidotes In Passing' 'Leech' 'The Living Infinite II' 'Loyal Shadow' 'Rise Above The Sentiment' 'Parasite Blues' 'Owls Predict, Oracles Stand Guard' The official viral video for the first single off the album, 'Spectrum Of Eternity', can be viewed below: The Living Infinite hosts Justin Sullivan - lead singer of the English band NEW MODEL ARMY - as guest vocalist on the track "The Windswept Mercy" and also marks the recording debut of long-time touring guitarist David Andersson (NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA).
Drummer Dirk Verbeuren's share a few thoughts about the second disc: 'Entering Aeons' - "This eerie, crawling instrumental sets the tone for chapter II of “The Living Infinite”. 'Long Live The Misanthrope' - "An up-tempo thrasher with killer riffs, epic solos and a catchy chorus: in short, 100% pure SOILWORK! 'Drowning With Silence' - "crushing yet melodic, this track perfectly embodies the album’s introspective atmosphere. 'Antidotes In Passing' - "Melancholy abounds in this atmospheric piece. 'Leech' - "At 260 bpm, the fastest song on the album and chock-full of Sylvain’s signature riffing. 'The Living Infinite II' - "Another catchy, heavy track with a timeless chorus. 'Loyal Shadow' - "This beautiful instrumental honors a fallen friend. 'Rise Above The Sentiment' - "A soaring chorus atop a rollercoaster of heavy riffs. 'Parasite Blues' - "Pounding grooves, thunderous guitars and epic melodies: this is blues the SOILWORK way! 'Owls Predict, Oracles Stand Guard' - "A magnificent Sven-penned closer, dark and truly unique, with lyrics by Ola.
Frontman Bjorn "Speed" Strid offered up a track-by-track commentary of the first CD below: 'Spectrum Of Eternity' - "A fast and thrashy, yet melodic opener bringing you straight to the 'core of existence.'" 'Memories Confined' - "An epic song with Sven's signature." 'This Momentary Bliss' - "Reminding you of A Predator's Portrait days. Super catchy and groovy chorus." 'Tongue' - "A fast song with a great melancholic feeling." 'The Living Infinite I' - "A heavy driven mid tempo song with a timeless melody." 'Let The First Wave Rise' - "If you mix Soilwork with Possessed, this is what you get." 'Vesta' - "A very heavy and atmospheric song with an elaborate acoustic intro." 'Realm Of The Wasted' - "Insane guitar work with the most intricate chorus on the album." 'The Windswept Mercy' - "A melancholic but hopeful song featuring Justin Sullivan (New Model Army)." 'Whispers And Lights' - "The epic ending track of the first album on which we just invented 'Levitating Metal.'" Soilwork’s world tour launches with a 55-show headlining trek through the U.S. and Canada this March. Support comes from JEFF LOOMIS, BLACKGUARD, THE BROWNING and WRETCHED. For more info on Soilwork visit Facebook.
VARGA - "Three Section Staff" Video Premiere

VARGA - "Three Section Staff" Video Premiere

Latest Reviews