STARKILL To Release Shadow Sleep Album In November Via Prosthetic Records; Video Announcement With Audio Samples Streaming

August 24, 2016, 2 years ago

news heavy metal starkill

STARKILL To Release Shadow Sleep Album In November Via Prosthetic Records; Video Announcement With Audio Samples Streaming

Prosthetic Records announce the signing of Illinois-based symphonic melodeath group Starkill to their evergrowing roster. Formed in 2008, Starkill self-released their debut EP before being discovered by Century Media Records in 2011 where they went on to release two full-length albums, 2013's Fires Of Life and it's follow-up, Virus Of The Mind in 2014.

Starkill are excited to reveal their third album, Shadow Sleep, will be released via Prosthetic Records worldwide on November 4th. Lead guitarist and vocalist, Parker Jameson commented, “We are thrilled to announce not only our signing to new home Prosthetic Records, but also the release of our third studio album, Shadow Sleep. Jameson continued to reveal, "'Gustavo Sazes (Arch Enemy, Kamelot, Firewind) tackled the artwork which perfectly matches the themes of internal struggle and introspective lyrics, and this was the first album in which the four of us tackled a good amount of the actual tracking and production of the album.”

Recorded and mixed at Electrowerks Studio with Chuck Macak (Fall Of Troy, Oceano Letlive) while being sent for mastering by Troy Glessner (August Burns Red, Devin Townsend, Death Cab For Cutie), Shadow Sleep presents 13 tracks of melodic, majestic death metal reinforced by Jameson’s over-the-top shredding paired with one of the tightest rhythm sections in the scene.

"This album was the culmination of many tours, new experiences and knowledge, and in our opinion, marks the starting point of where the true Starkill sound begins" exclaimed Jameson, "We've finally found ourselves, our musical style and finally have access to all the musical tools we've ever wanted: two screamers, two male singers, and newly featured on this record, the addition of a female vocalist. This album marks a critical turning point for Starkill, and we are excited to be with Prosthetic Records for this new chapter."

Shadow Sleep tracklisting:

“Walk Through Fire”
“Burn Your World”
“Through The Darkness”
“Shadow Sleep”
“Piece Of Paradise”
“Into The Grey”
“Razors Edge”
“No Savior”
“Erase Me”
“Captive Of The Night”

Starkill have created a brief video announcing their new signing while teasing audio clips taken from Shadow Sleep:

Starkill have won fans over throughout the country with their solid live performances on stages alongside bands including Epica, Moonspell, Arch Enemy and Ne Obliviscaris. In addition to the release of Shadow Sleep on November 4th, the band will also kickstart an extensive jaunt across North America with Gothenburg melodic death legends Dark Tranquility, Finland doom metallists' Swallow The Sun and Swedish heavy metal outfit Enforcer. Prior to this, the band will be seen at Illinois' Full Terror Assault with Dying Fetus, Belphegor and more.

A full list of their upcoming appearances can be found here.

Starkill is:

Parker Jameson - lead guitar, vocals, keyboards
Spencer Weidner - drums
Tony Keathley - guitar, backing vocals
Shaun Andruchuk - bass guitar

Featured Audio

CANDLEMASS – “Astorolus – The Great Octopus” (Napalm)

CANDLEMASS – “Astorolus – The Great Octopus” (Napalm)

Featured Video

GETAWAY VAN - "Lord I've Been Running"

GETAWAY VAN - "Lord I've Been Running"

Latest Reviews