STRYPER Covering '60s Gospel Song 'Jesus Is Just Alright' For New Studio Album

April 23, 2013, 4 years ago

hot flashes news stryper

STRYPER frontman Michael Sweet has checked in from the studio with the following update:

"We're doing a cover of 'Jesus Is Just Alright' on the new Stryper album and it rivals our cover of EARTH, WIND & FIRE's 'Shining Star' - Riffs!"

'Jesus Is Just Alright' is a gospel song written by Arthur Reid Reynolds and was first recorded by Reynolds' own group, THE ART REYNOLDS SINGERS, on their 1966 album, Tellin' It Like It Is. It was later covered by THE BYRDS and THE DOOBIE BROTHERS.

Check out The Doobie Brothers' version of 'Jesus Is Just Alright' below:

As previously reported, Stryper guitarist Oz Fox' guitar lesson website recently welcomed Michael Sweet. In an exclusive interview, Sweet discusses influences, warm-up techniques, gear and more, including a surprise performance in Part 2.

The interview is available in full to subscribers. A teaser clip is available below:

Stryper's new re-recorded collection, Second Coming, hit the streets on March 22nd in Europe and on March 26th in North America. The complete album can now be previewed via iTunes here.

The album features sixteen tracks, including new recordings of fourteen songs from the band’s early years as well as two brand new songs recorded especially for Second Coming, and is produced by Stryper frontman Michael Sweet.

Second Coming tracklisting:

'Loud N’ Clear'

'Loving You'

'Soldiers Under Command'

'Makes Me Wanna Sing'

'First Love'

'The Rock That Makes Me Roll'

'Reach Out'


'To Hell With The Devil'

'Calling On You'


'The Way'

'Sing Along Song'

'More Than A Man'

Bleeding From Inside Out' (new song)

'Blackened' (new song)

The first single - a new studio cut 'Bleeding From Inside Out' - was released on February 25th.

Sweet recently commented, “We're really excited about this record. The re-recorded songs are sounding awesome… better than the originals in many ways! One word to describe the record? Heavier. We've hooked up with some great people - we've got new management, a great album, a great label. We just feel like everything is coming together, and hopefully some big things are to follow."

Check out some audio clips from the album below:

Stryper is one of the top Christian rock bands of all time. Comprised of the original line-up of Michael Sweet (vocals/guitar), Oz Fox (guitar), Tim Gaines (bass), and Robert Sweet (drums), Stryper has been rocking since 1984, and is responsible for such '80s metal classic albums as Soldiers Under Command, To Hell With The Devil, In God We Trust and such MTV hit singles/videos as 'Calling On You', 'Free', and 'Honestly'.

After a sabbatical for much of the 1990's, Stryper returned strong in the early 21st century. To date, the band has sold upwards of 8 million records worldwide and is a Dove Award-winner and Grammy nominee. Stryper is the first band to have two songs in MTV’s Top 10 simultaneously.

Featured Audio

GRANNY 4 BARREL - "Freak Flag"

GRANNY 4 BARREL - "Freak Flag"

Featured Video

POWER QUEST - "Lords Of Tomorrow"

POWER QUEST - "Lords Of Tomorrow"

Latest Reviews