STRYPER Frontman On New Studio Album - "There Is No Pop Or Fluff Musically Or Lyrically; It Will Be Like A Train Speeding Down The Tracks"

February 27, 2013, 6 years ago

hot flashes news stryper

STRYPER frontman Michael Sweet has checked in with his thoughts on the band's new all-original studio album, which is currently in the works:

"I've been writing and arranging the past week for the new, all original full length Stryper record, to commence next week (pre-production) and officially begin recording on April 2nd. The songs are going to be the best of our career and there is no pop or fluff musically or lyrically. I'm counting the days for it's arrival and when it does arrive, it will be like a train speeding down the tracks - fast, heavy, unstoppable and loud! I get excited for every record but I've never quite been this excited before. This record will be one for the books and in my humble opinion, our best yet bar none. No pride here, just confidence that it's going to be great, really really great...."

Stryper's new re-recorded collection, Second Coming, will hit streets on March 22nd in Europe and March 26th in North America. An official EPK has been posted online and can be viewed below:

The album features sixteen tracks, including new recordings of fourteen songs from the band’s early years as well as two brand new songs recorded especially for Second Coming, and is produced by Stryper frontman Michael Sweet.

Second Coming tracklisting:

'Loud N’ Clear'

'Loving You'

'Soldiers Under Command'

'Makes Me Wanna Sing'

'First Love'

'The Rock That Makes Me Roll'

'Reach Out'


'To Hell With The Devil'

'Calling On You'


'The Way'

'Sing Along Song'

'More Than A Man'

Bleeding From Inside Out' (new song)

'Blackened' (new song)

Listen to an audio sample of 'Soldiers Under Command' here, and a sample of 'The Rock That Makes Me Roll' at this location.

The first single - a new studio cut 'Bleeding From Inside Out' - was released on February 25th.

Sweet recently commented, “We're really excited about this record. The re-recorded songs are sounding awesome… better than the originals in many ways! One word to describe the record? Heavier. We've hooked up with some great people - we've got new management, a great album, a great label. We just feel like everything is coming together, and hopefully some big things are to follow."

Stryper is one of the top Christian rock bands of all time. Comprised of the original line-up of Michael Sweet (vocals/guitar), Oz Fox (guitar), Tim Gaines (bass), and Robert Sweet (drums), Stryper has been rocking since 1984, and is responsible for such '80s metal classic albums as Soldiers Under Command, To Hell With The Devil, In God We Trust and such MTV hit singles/videos as 'Calling On You', 'Free', and 'Honestly'.

After a sabbatical for much of the 1990's, Stryper returned strong in the early 21st century. To date, the band has sold upwards of 8 million records worldwide and is a Dove Award-winner and Grammy nominee. Stryper is the first band to have two songs in MTV’s Top 10 simultaneously.

Featured Audio

TESTAMENT – “Night Of The Witch” (Nuclear Blast)

TESTAMENT – “Night Of The Witch” (Nuclear Blast)

Featured Video

Exclusive: PORN Premieres “Some Happy Moments” Video

Exclusive: PORN Premieres “Some Happy Moments” Video

Latest Reviews