STRYPER - "Planning On Recording A New Studio Album Early Next Year"

March 31, 2014, 6 years ago

hot flashes news stryper

STRYPER frontman Michael Sweet has checked in with the following update:

"For some reason I'm receiving quite a bit of feedback from people thinking that because I'm releasing a solo album and book, my heart and time isn't devoted to Stryper. This could not be further from the truth. I put 100% into Stryper and I always will. My solo projects are an extension of my creativity and an opportunity to share some new music that might not be appropriate for a Stryper album. Just like Stryper, I deeply appreciate your support and quite honestly, I can't do it without your support. So much time, effort, money and work goes into every project and without your help, it won't happen. Stryper or solo. The book is something I've wanted to write for a long, long time - more of a therapeutic outlet for me to stay strong and to continue on. So, Stryper is still going as strong as ever. We're releasing a live album and we're planning on recording a new studio album early next year.

I thank God every day for all of you and all that we do would not be possible without you. If you haven't ordered the book/album yet, it's available here. The album I'm Not Your Suicide is available at iTunes and Amazon as well and the book, Honestly: My Life & Stryper Revealed, will be very soon!

From my heart and soul to yours, always."

Sweet will release his new solo album, I'm Not Your Suicide, on May 6th. It is now available for pre-order via Amazon using the widget at the bottom of the page.

Sweet has released the debut single, 'I’m Not Your Suicide', from his upcoming solo album of the same name, being released on May 6th via Big 3 Records.

Michael Sweet has partnered up with ChildHelp for the release of the single. Michael Sweet and Big3 Records are donating a portion of the proceeds from the sale of ‘I’m Not Your Suicide’ to ChildHelp. The single is available via iTunes and can be purchased here. The video for 'I’m Not Your Suicide' can be seen below.

Michael Sweet felt compelled to partner with ChildHelp after learning that almost half of all children who have been abused consider suicide. His intention was for the heartfelt lyrics to connect with these kids and hopefully offer some peace to those in need. Bringing added attention to the ChildHelp National Child Abuse Hotline, which offers an immediate 24/7 professional crisis counselor on call, and championing the ChildHelp Speak Up Be Safe in schools, Michael Sweet is sharing a message of crisis intervention and prevention education. 'I'm Not Your Suicide' is a song with a message of hope and through the partnership with ChildHelp, illustrate to children a positive alternative through the lyrics of the song.

The full album I’m Not Your Suicide is available for pre-sale at Fans who pre-order the full-album will be able to instantly download the song 'Taking On The World Tonight' (featuring Tony Harnell) and be registered to win a guitar used in the recording of the album. Fans will also receive a sneak-peek into the upcoming autobiography Honestly: My Life and Stryper Revealed. Buyers will be able to download chapter 18, a chapter where Michael reveals his personal thoughts on Christian music and the industry that surrounds it. The autobiography was originally slated for release on May 6th, but due to production delays will be available at a later date.

With the upcoming and long-overdue solo album, Sweet is finally delivering the project fans have been patiently waiting for. Self-produced, I’m Not Your Suicide includes special appearances by Tony Harnell (TNT), Kevin Max (DCTALK, AUDIO ADRENALINE), Chris Jericho (FOZZY), Doug Aldrich (WHITESNAKE), Electra Mustaine (daughter of MEGADETH frontman Dave Mustaine) and Stryper bandmates Robert Sweet and Timothy Gaines. Legendary drummer Kenny Aronoff played on the record as well.

I’m Not Your Suicide tracklisting:

‘Taking On The World Tonight’ (featuring Tony Harnell)

‘All That's Left (For Me To Prove)’

‘The Cause’

‘This Time’ (featuring Kevin Max)

‘I'm Not Your Suicide’ (co-written with Blair Daly)

‘Coming Home’

‘Miles Away’


‘How To Live’ (featuring Robert Sweet and Timothy Gaines of Stryper)

‘Heart Of Gold’

‘Anybody Else’ (featuring Chris Jericho and Doug Aldrich)


‘Heart of Gold’ (featuring Electra Mustaine) (bonus track)

'I'm Not Your Suicide' video:

Featured Audio

CARCASS – “The Living Dead At The Manchester Morgue” (Nuclear Blast)

CARCASS – “The Living Dead At The Manchester Morgue” (Nuclear Blast)

Featured Video

HOMICIDE Premieres “Scourge Of God”

HOMICIDE Premieres “Scourge Of God”

Latest Reviews