TARJA - 'Falling Awake' Streaming At BraveWords.com

July 28, 2010, 8 years ago

hot flashes news tarja

The new TARJA song 'Falling Awake' (featuring Jason Hook from FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH) is currently streaming online at BraveWords.com - head to the left-hand-side of the site to launch KnuckleTracks Online Audio Player.

The new album from the former NIGHTWISH singer Tarja Turunen called What Lies Beneath is due out on August 31st in the US via The End Records and in Canada by Universal Music. In Europe, the album is scheduled for release on September 3rd in Germany, Switzerland, Austria and the UK. Finland and all other territories will see the album out on September 6th. Artwork for both North American and the international release can be viewed below.

'Falling Awake' will be released August 17th as a limited edition 7" through The Omega Order and available August 24th at all digital outlets. The track is backed with 'The Good Die Young' - a song from the SCORPIONS most recent album that features Tarja’s vocals.

About 'Falling Awake' Turunen comments: "My first street single and very personal song to me. I wrote the song together with singer, songwriter Johnny Andrews. The storyline goes around my life as an artist today. I felt it is time to write something positive, since I truly feel good and confident today. I think this story represents many other people as well, so I have high hopes that listeners can feel connected with it. The idea of having many guitar players making solos for the different versions of the song, came to the picture a bit later in the production. Legendary guitar player JOE SATRIANI performed a guitar solo for the album version, Jason Hook, known from American metal band Five Finger Death Punch, for the single version and Argentinean guitarist Julian Barrett for the version (streaming at BraveWords.com."

The singles 'Immortal' (Germany/Switzerland/Austria) and 'Until My Last Breath' (rest of the world) will be available on August 20th and August 23rd respectively.

As previously reported, there will be a two-CD Deluxe Edition that features Turunen's cover of the WHITESNAKE classic 'Still Of The Night' and the new songs 'We Are' and 'Naiad' as bonus material on disc two. See below for the complete tracklisting of the album.

What Lies Beneath was recorded and produced by Tarja and mixed by Tim Palmer (PEAR JAM, THE CURE, ROBERT PLANT), Colin Richardson (SLIPKNOT, MACHINE HEAD, BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE) and Slamm Andrews (Scores for Angels & Demon, Pirates Of The Caribbean, Gladiator). Other special guests on What Lies Beneath include Will Calhoun (LIVING COLOUR), Slovak National Symphony Orchestra and Choir and more.

What Lies Beneath tracklisting:

'Anteroom Of Death' (featuring VAN CANTO)

'Until My Last Breath'

'Dark Star' (featuring ALL THAT REMAINS' Phil Labonte)


'Little Lies'

'Rivers Of Lust'

'In For A Kill'

'Montañas de Silencio' (exclusive US track)

'Falling Awake' (featuring Joe Satriani)

'The Archive Of Lost Dreams'

'Crimson Deep'

Disc Two (on Deluxe Version):

'We Are'


'Still Of The Night' (Whitesnake cover - playing below)

North American cover art:

International cover art:

Featured Audio

DEATH ANGEL – “Humanicide” (Nuclear Blast)

DEATH ANGEL – “Humanicide” (Nuclear Blast)

Featured Video

RICH DAVIS Premieres “Dr. Me…” Video

RICH DAVIS Premieres “Dr. Me…” Video

Latest Reviews