VEKTOR - Terminal Redux Album Details Revealed; Pre-Order Launched

February 12, 2016, 3 years ago

news heavy metal vektor

VEKTOR - Terminal Redux Album Details Revealed; Pre-Order Launched

Highly complex progressive sci-fi themed metallers, Vektor, have revealed the full details of their long-awaited new album, Terminal Redux. Due to be released on May 6th worldwide, Terminal Redux is Vektor's third full-length release and the band's first ever concept album, further exploring the themes that first appeared in the lyrics of the title track from their previous album, 2011's Outer Isolation.

Like the most outlandish and classic concept records of the past - such as Rush’s 2112, Queensrÿche's Operation: Mindcrime and Mastodon’s Leviathan - Terminal Redux mixes fantasy and reality, imagination and fact, and cataclysmic warnings from the future to keep the listener on edge throughout.

Vektor vocalist/guitarist David DiSanto discusses the album's concept: "The story begins with a lone astronaut regaining his memories after being sentenced to an isolation testing program. Near the point of death in his damaged spacecraft, he finds a life-rejuvenating molecule within a stellar nebula that will change the course of his fate and many others. He brings a large haul of his newly discovered prize to the Cygnus regime, a vast galactic empire, in hopes of regaining his status as a high-ranking general. Years of isolation have turned him into a power-hungry tyrant that will stop at nothing to usurp the people who banished him. Through terror tactics and brute force, he incites a coup within Cygnus and gains control. Using the life-rejuvenating molecules from the stellar nebula, he grants the people under his rule extended life. His goal is to achieve perfect, cosmic harmony within his domain and bring balance to the war torn planets: something that no intelligent life-form has ever been able to accomplish."

As well as letting their imaginations flow free lyrically, Vektor have also embraced some unusual audio elements during the recording of Terminal Redux, going as far as to enlist the vocal assistance of a group of Philadelphia soul singers to contribute additional texture to the riff-heavy thrash opus.

Terminal Redux is available to pre-order now on CD and vinyl, including a number of limited signed editions. Reserve your copy now in Europe at this location or in North America here. The album is also available to pre-order now on iTunes.

Terminal Redux was recorded between the band's home studio and Panther Pro-Audio in Philadelphia, with additional mixing courtesy of Byron Filson at Villain Studios in Arizona.

The album artwork was created by Adam Burke. David DiSanto comments: "The cover artwork depicts a scene from the second half of the album. In the distant future, a ravaged space terminal makes a journey to an exploded star known as 'Relic Alshain'."


“Charging The Void”
“Cygnus Terminal”
“LCD (Liquid Crystal Disease)”
“Mountains Above The Sun”
“Ultimate Artificer”
“Pillars Of Sand”
“Recharging The Void”

“Ultimate Artificer”:

Vector tour dates with Voivod, Eight Bells

12 - Lancaster, PA - Chameleon Club
13 - Washington, DC - Black Cat
14 - Richmond, VA - Strange Matter
16 - Raleigh, NC - Kings
18 - Charlotte, NC - Neighborhood Theatre
19 - Sanford, FL - West End Trading Co.
20 - Ybor City, FL - The Orpheum
21 - Atlanta, GA - Masquerade
22 - Knoxville, TN - The Concourse
23 - Newport, KY - Southgate House Revival
24 - Chicago, IL - The Abbey Pub
25 - Cudahy, WI - The Metal Grill
26 - St Paul, MN - The Amsterdam
27 - Omaha, NE - Waiting Room
28 - St. Louis, MO - Firebird *
29 - Louisville, KY - Zanzabar*

1 - Valpariso, IN - Big Shots *
2 - Columbus, OH - A&R Music Bar *
3 - Ferndale, MI - The Loving Touch *
4 - Toronto, ON - Mod Club *
5 - Hamilton, ON - This Ain't Hollywood *

* - Vector and Black Fast supporting Voivod

(Photo - Katy A.D. Photography)

Featured Audio

THE DAMNED THINGS - "Cells" (Nuclear Blast)

THE DAMNED THINGS - "Cells" (Nuclear Blast)

Featured Video

ICARUS WITCH Premiere “Lightning Strikes”

ICARUS WITCH Premiere “Lightning Strikes”

Latest Reviews