WINGER - Full Karma Details Released; Audio Samples Available

September 8, 2009, 10 years ago

news rock hard winger

Frontiers Records reports:

Frontiers Records proudly announces the release of WINGER’s fifth studio album, entitled Karma, on October 16th in Europe and October 27th in North America.

Winger reunited after more than a decade in 2006 for the release of the successful come back album entitled IV, a record that pushed forward the boundaries of Winger classic sound to new heights. Dealing with the concept of the military life and what it was like to be a soldier, from a soldier’s perspective, leaving politics at the door.

“After Winger IV we toured the United States, Europe, Australia and Japan during which made a live record” says Kip Winger. “When the chance came up to do a new Winger record, I envisioned a upbeat totally rocking record that was a cross between the 1st Winger album and Pull. So Reb and I sat down and wrote all the music in a month or so. I worked for 6 months to finish it in the classic Winger style."

The result is an amazing new record where the four band members: Kip Winger (bass and vocals), Reb Beach (guitars now also in WHITESNAKE), Rod Morgenstein and John Roth shine with an incredible instrumental and vocal prowess at the service of superb hard rock songs but with an uncanny sense of melody.

The title itself, Karma, represents Winger completing its full musical circle as Kip Winger explains, “We were discussing the very interesting path the band has had and we have all been through so much together. So we went for “Karma” as this is a word that truly sums up the experience of being in the band."

Winger's debut album in 1988 on Atlantic achieved platinum status in the United States, and gold in Japan and Canada sporting such hits as 'Madalaine', 'Seventeen' and 'Headed For A Heartbreak'. In 1990, the band was nominated for an American Music Award for "Best New Heavy Metal Band". Shortly after, Winger released its second album, In The Heart Of The Young, which went platinum in the US and gold in Japan. The album included Winger's biggest hit, 'Miles Away', which topped at #12 of Billboard charts in the USA. Their third and last studio album, Pull, was recorded in 1992/93 as a three-piece band, following the original keyboard / guitar player Paul Taylor's departure. Produced by Mike Shipley, on the following tour John Roth was called in to replace Paul Taylor.

“Usually Winger fans don’t "expect" anything because they know we do what we feel like doing artistically”, explains Kip. “It is not a commercially driven band. I can say that the songs are very upbeat”.

Reb Beach adds: “It's a very up-tempo riff driven rocking record. It has the elements of vintage Winger from ‘89 but has the blood, sweat and tears of years 20 years of writing, recording and touring!”

Karma will be released with the first pressing in limited digipak edition and includes the following songs: 'Deal With The Devil', 'Stone Cold Killer', 'Big World Away', 'Come A Little Closer', 'Pull Me Under', 'Supernova', 'Always Within Me', 'Feeding Frenzy', 'After All This Time', 'Witness', 'First Ending' (Bonus Track).

Also included there will be an Electronic Press Kit, with footage filmed in the studio during the recording sessions, that is playable on all computers as an interactive bonus.

Winger also announced their forthcoming European tour in support to the new album’s release


20 - Roma, Italy - Crossroads
21 - Pinarella di Cervia (RA), Italy - Rock Planet
22 - Pavia, Italy - Thunder Road
24 - Paris, France - Maroquinerie
25 - Verviers, Belgium - Spirit of '66
26 - Weert, Holland - Bosuil
27 - Moscow, Russia - Plan B
28 - Ufa, Russia - Rock Club
30 - Ioannina, Greece - Venue TBA


1 - Athens, Greece - Gagarin (TBC)
3 - Thessaloniki, Greece - Venue TBA
4 - Copenhagen, Denmark - The Rock
6 - Warsaw, Poland - Progresja
7 - Prague, Czech Republic - Exit/tbc
8 - Wien, Austria - Venue TBC
9 - Budapest, Hungary - A38
11 - Worblaufen, Switzerland - Tibis
12 - Madrid, Spain - Ritmo y Compas

More dates will follow in 2010 in Europe, North America and elsewhere.

Featured Audio

BIFF BYFORD – “Welcome To The Show” (Silver Lining)

BIFF BYFORD – “Welcome To The Show” (Silver Lining)

Featured Video

Exclusive: WITHIN NOSTALGIA Premieres “Death Lifes’ Lover” Video

Exclusive: WITHIN NOSTALGIA Premieres “Death Lifes’ Lover” Video

Latest Reviews