EPICA Debut Music Video For "Freedom - The Wolves Within"

November 27, 2020, 2 months ago

news heavy metal epica

EPICA Debut Music Video For "Freedom - The Wolves Within"

Dutch symphonic metal giants, Epica, will release their new album Omega, on February 26 via Nuclear Blast. The video for the second single "Freedom - The Wolves Within", can be seen below.

Keyboard player Coen Janssen comments: "Our newest video ‘Freedom’ tells the age-old story of the battle between good and evil in the form of an old Cherokee legend. We are very pleased on how the animated video not only tells this story, but also incorporates all the symbolism from that legend and the Epica-universe! I can’t wait to play this one live on stage so lets all feed our white wolf and stay strong and we’ll see you soon!"

Omega is the band's first studio album in five years. Epica has also released the first single from the album, titled "Abyss Of Time", with an accompanying video that was made in collaboration with Grupa 13.

Watch the video for "Abyss Of Time" below, and get the single digitally here.

Simone Simons comments: "Finally we can show you the video for our newest single 'Abyss Of Time'! We flew all the way to Poland to work with Grupa 13 for the first time. Shooting videos is one of my favorite parts of creating the visual side to our music. The costumes were insanely beautiful. It was so much fun and I hope that you like the video."

The band also kick-off the pre-order for Omega, that will be available in the following formats:

- CD Jewelcase

- 2 CD Jewelcase In Slipcase (U.S. Edition)
  32p booklet
  Regular CD
  Acoustic CD

- 2 CD Digibook
  32p booklet
   Regular CD
  Acoustic CD

- 4 CD Earbook  (Limited to 3500)
  48p Earbook
  Acoustic CD
  Orchestral CD
  Instrumental CD

- Vinyl-Box (Limited to 1500)
  4CD Earbook
  2LP Picture Disc
  Golden Necklace with Ankh symbol

- 2 LP
  Blue / Green Swirl (Limited to 2000)
  Beer / Bone Swirl (Limited to 300)
  White (Limited to 300)
  Turquoise / Black Marbled (Limited to 1600)
  White / Blue Splatter (Limited to 300)
  Transparent Red (Limited to 400)
  Transparent Orange (Limited to 300)
  White / Gold Splatter (Limited to 200)
  Glow-In-The-Dark (Limited to 200)

Pre-order the album in the format of your choice here. Pre-save here.

About the new album, Mark Jansen comments: "I am very proud of this album, as I am convinced we have written a very refreshing and well-balanced album even after so many years of existence. Our strength is that we have many great songwriters in one band. We have managed to combine each other's strongest qualities and select the best songs. It was a fruitful period of spending time together to work as one team on those tracks. I think this has made the biggest difference compared to our previous albums. Still using the advantages of comfortably sending files by the internet to each other but combining that with coming physically together again to work on all the tracks. I think I have listened to 'Omega about 50 times already and still can't get enough of it!"

Omega tracklisting:

"Alpha - Anteludium
"Abyss Of Time - Countdown To Singularity"
"The Skeleton Key"
"Seal of Solomon"
"Code Of Life"
"Freedom - The Wolves Within"
"Kingdom Of Heaven, Part 3 - The Antediluvian Universe"
"Synergize - Manic Manifest"
"Twilight Reverie - The Hypnagogic State"
"Omega - Sovereign Of The Sun Spheres"

"Abyss Of Time" video:

Epica is:

Simone Simons - vocals
Isaac Delahaye - guitars
Mark Jansen - guitars, grunts, screams
Coen Janssen - synths, piano
Ariën van Weesenbeek - drums
Rob van der Loo - bass

Featured Audio

THE DEAD DAISIES – “Holy Ground (Shake The Memory)” (SPV)

THE DEAD DAISIES – “Holy Ground (Shake The Memory)” (SPV)

Featured Video

RICH DAVIS – “Eyes Colored Black”

RICH DAVIS – “Eyes Colored Black”

Latest Reviews