IN MOURNING Premier “Below Rise To The Above” Lyric Video

March 23, 2016, 6 years ago

news heavy metal in mourning

IN MOURNING Premier “Below Rise To The Above” Lyric Video

Sweden's lauded melodic death/doom metallers and Agonia Records recent signess, In Mourning, will release their new album, Afterglow, on May 20th. A new lyric video for the track “Below Rise To The Above” can be found below.

The new album’s cover artwork has been prepared by Kristian Wåhlin (Bathory, Tiamat, Amorphis, Dark Tranquillity).

In Mourning commented: "The new album is called Afterglow and its story takes off from where The Weight Of Oceans ends. It’s a bit more complex than our previous albums and it has got a bit of a different sound than the older ones, a bit more alive like a band and maybe not always as studio corrected as our earlier material. However, the foundation of the music is still what we’ve always done and the key elements are pretty much the same but with some new additions and a few new twists and turns of course.”

This will be the first album featuring new drummer, Daniel Liljekvist (ex-Katatonia).

Hailed by many as the heir to Opeth's melodeath throne, In Mourning was formed in the Swedish woods in the year 2000. Since then the band has evolved over the years striving to refine its sound to what it is today. April 2012 marked the release of the bands third and latest album The Weight Of Oceans, a mythology inspired conceptual story that journeys to the sea. Musically, the group blends a broad spectrum of influences into a foundation of melodic death metal. Thrusting from doomy metal-riffs, blasting drumbeats and deep growling vocals to calm breezes of clean flowing melodies and harmonies.

Afterglow was recorded between November 2015 and March 2016 in Nordin Music Studios (drums) and Libra Studios (guitar, bass and vocals). Mixing and mastering duties have been handled by Jonas Martinsson in Necrosavant Studio.

Afterglow will be available in the following formats:
-Digipack CD (with 12 page booklet)
-Jewelcase CD (with 12 page booklet)
-Regular Double Black LP
-Double Orange Crush Transparent LP (hand-numbered to 135 copies)
-Black t-shirt in two different versions
-Digital formats

Find pre-orders at Agonia Records.


“Fire And Ocean”
“The Grinning Mist”
“Ashen Crown”
“Below Rise To The Above”
“The Lighthouse Keeper”
“The Call To Orion”

“Below Rise To The Above” lyric video:


Tobias Netzell - guitars and vocals
Pierre Stam - bass
Björn Pettersson - guitars
Tim Nedergård - guitars
Daniel Liljekvist - drums

Featured Audio

CANDLEMASS – “Scandinavian Gods” (Napalm)

CANDLEMASS – “Scandinavian Gods” (Napalm)

Featured Video

IRON KINGDOM - "Queen Of The Crystal Throne"

IRON KINGDOM - "Queen Of The Crystal Throne"

Latest Reviews