PERIPHERY III: Select Difficulty Album Details Revealed; “The Price Is Wrong” Song Streaming

May 25, 2016, 4 years ago

news heavy metal periphery

PERIPHERY III: Select Difficulty Album Details Revealed; “The Price Is Wrong” Song Streaming

D.C.-based prog innovators Periphery return this summer with a new album, Periphery III: Select Difficulty, out on July 22nd via Sumerian Records, and a US tour, dubbed the Sonic Unrest tour, which launches on August 4th. Periphery share the first music to be heard from the 11-song album as they stream the new song, “The Price Is Wrong” (listen below).

“It’s like handing somebody a grenade,” guitar player Jake Bowen says of the song, which serves as the album opener. “It’s so in-your-face and brutal for us. It was a great way to start.”

“Every one of our albums has a nice long intro, and we were like, ‘Let’s kick this off with a drum fill and a pissed-off riff,’” laughs guitar player Misha Mansoor. “It’s something we haven’t done. It was fun.”

Periphery III: Select Difficulty tracklisting:

“The Price Is Wrong”
“The Way The News Goes…”
“Remain Indoors”
“Habitual Line-Stepper”
“Catch Fire”
“Prayer Position”

“The Price Is Wrong”:

“Periphery III: Select Difficulty is finally complete and we’re extremely excited to show everyone,” said guitar player Jake Bowen. “For the past couple of years we’ve been refining our collaborative process as a band and we feel that it’s only getting better with the completion of this album. We spent two months writing songs that are not only representative of the Periphery sound but also reflect where all of us are as musicians, working together has helped us tread new ground musically and creatively. In support of Periphery III you’ll see us hit the road in the States this summer with SikTh, Chon, and Toothgrinder on the Sonic Unrest tour, it’s going to be a blast! See you on the road!”

Periphery’s own Adam “Nolly” Getgood oversaw production for the album as he did with the Juggernaut releases. Nolly will no longer be a touring member of Periphery, as he will be expanding his production work in his native UK. He remains an integral part, and a member, of Periphery. At this time no decision has been made about a touring bassist.

“Touring with Periphery has shown me some of the most incredible experiences I could ever have imagined, to meet amazing people all over the world and to create friendships for life; it has truly been an honour to perform in front of every audience who has watched us play over the years. However the touring life isn’t something that everyone can continue doing indefinitely, and for me, the time has come where I want to settle into a more normal existence, be able to make plans further into the future than the touring life enables, and to be able to focus more on the studio side of my music career,” explained Nolly. “I will, however, be remaining as a band member and contributing in any way that I can while the band is off the road; I love all of my fellow bandmates like brothers and I’m so grateful for the incredible support they’ve shown as I make this huge life change. I know they are going to be taking the music and performances to the next level when they hit the road later this year.”

The Sonic Unrest tour, a month-long outing, sponsored by D’Addario and Guitar Center, includes openers SikTh, Chon and Toothgrinder and kicks off on August 4th in Raleigh, NC. Tickets are on-sale this Friday at 10 AM, local time. VIP packages, which feature a private meet and greet with the band as well as a limited edition, exclusive poster are available simultaneously via

Sonic Unrest Tour dates include:
4 - Raleigh, NC - Lincoln Theatre
5 - Atlanta, GA - Masquerade
6 - Memphis, TN - New Daisy Theater
7 - Dallas, TX - House of Blues
8 - San Antonio, TX - Alamo City Music Hall
9 - Houston, TX - House of Blues
11 - Phoenix, AZ - The Press Room
12 - San Diego, CA - House of Blues
13 - Los Angeles, CA - The Regent
14 - San Francisco, CA - The Fillmore
16 - Portland, OR - Hawthorne Theater
17 - Seattle, WA - The Showbox
19 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Complex
20 - Denver, CO - Summit Music Hall
22 - Minneapolis, MN - Varsity Theater
24 - Milwaukee, WI - Turner Hall Ballroom
25 - Grand Rapids, MI - Intersection
26 - Detroit, MI - St. Andrew’s Hall
27 - Pittsburgh, PA - Mr. Small’s Theatre
28 - Philadelphia, PA - Theatre of the Living Arts
30 - Boston, MA - Paradise
31 - New York, NY - Irving Plaza

1 - Baltimore, MD - Baltimore Sound Stage

Periphery will host a four-day, immersive summer camp dubbed the Periphery Summer Jam on July 25th to 29th at the Full Moon Resort in Big Indian, New York. Registration and further information can be found here.

Featured Audio



Featured Video

KILL RITUAL - “Thy Will Be Done”

KILL RITUAL - “Thy Will Be Done”

Latest Reviews