SONATA ARCTICA Release New Single / Lyric Video "A Little Less Understanding"; Cover Artwork For New Album Unveiled

June 21, 2019, 2 years ago

news sonata arctica heavy metal

SONATA ARCTICA Release New Single / Lyric Video "A Little Less Understanding"; Cover Artwork For New Album Unveiled

On September 6th, Finnish melodic metal titans Sonata Arctica will release their tenth studio album, Talviyö« (which means Winter Night), featuring eleven new tracks. 

"We were talking about having an album cover made from a photo and luckily managed to find this award winning photographer Onni Wiljami, who actually hails from a village not too far from our hometown, and his pictures were just perfect for this album", explains keyboardist Henrik "Henkka" Klingenberg.

"The idea was to create an album that is musically in line with at least the previous two albums", says vocalist Tony Kakko and adds: "I am very happy with the songs and the general mood of the album. Some career highlights there, I feel."  

"We recorded a bunch of kick ass songs and tried some new stuff as well. I'm really proud of how we managed to record the band sounding more live, playing together instead of just tracking everything one by one", states Klingenberg.

Today, Sonata Arctica release their first single called "A Little Less Understanding", along with a lyric video found below.

"The song is lyrically somewhat a follow up for 'I Have A Right' and talks about the difficulty of making the right choices with the upbringing of a new human being," explains Tony Kakko. 

Sonata Arctica will support Kamelot this fall in North America on the next leg of The Shadow Tour.

The Shadow Tour 2019:

10 - Silver Spring, MD - The Fillmore
11 - Philadelphia, PA - TLA
13 - Worcester, MA - Palladium
14 - New York. NY - Terminal 5
15 - Montreal, QC - Club Soda
16 - Quebec City, QC - Imperial
18 - Toronto, ON - Phoenix
19 - Detroit, MI - Harpo's
20 - Cleveland, OH - Agora
21 - Chicago, IL - Patio Theatre
23 - Minneapolis/St. Paul. MN - Amsterdam
24 - Kansas City, MO - The Truman
25 - Denver, CO - Ogden Theatre
26 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Complex
28 - Edmonton, AB - The Ranch
29 - Calgary, AB - The Gateway

1 - Vancouver, BC - Venue Nightclub
2 - Seattle, WA - Neptune Theatre
4 - San Francisco, CA - Palace of Fine Arts
5 - Anaheim, CA - City National Grove
6 - Tempe, AZ - Marquee Theatre
8 - Dallas, TX - Canton Hall
9 - St. Louis, MO - The Ready Room
11 - Atlanta, GA - Masquerade
12 - Tampa Bay, FL - Jannus Live

Featured Audio

THE DEAD DAISIES – “Holy Ground (Shake The Memory)” (SPV)

THE DEAD DAISIES – “Holy Ground (Shake The Memory)” (SPV)

Featured Video

RICH DAVIS – “Eyes Colored Black”

RICH DAVIS – “Eyes Colored Black”

Latest Reviews