TOTO - New Greatest Hits Package To Include Three New Songs, "Alone" Streaming Now; World Tour To Launch In February

November 15, 2017, 3 years ago

news classic rock toto

TOTO - New Greatest Hits Package To Include Three New Songs, "Alone" Streaming Now; World Tour To Launch In February

Toto have announced a February 9th worldwide release date via Legacy Recordings for their brand new Greatest Hits package, titled 40 Trips Around The Sun.

The 17-track album features three previously unreleased recordings: "Spanish Sea", "Alone" and "Struck By Lightning" alongside newly remastered classic tracks worked on by Elliot Scheiner & Gavin Lurssen and his team. The core Toto members, Steve Lukather, David Paich, Steve Porcaro, Joseph Williams re-entered the studio earlier this year to work on this release. Fans can pre-order the album here.

While going through the Sony vaults, the band uncovered several unfinished tracks that featured both Jeff and Mike Porcaro, one of which is now "Spanish Sea".

“This track is originally from the Isolation sessions” Steve Lukather commented. “It’s one that didn't make it and we had to re-write it including creating a new chorus. Thanks to modern tech we were able to play once again with not only our 20 something selves but with our dear brothers Jeff and Mike Porcaro reminding us just how deep their groove was. Bittersweet... Many stories, laughs and a few tears on this one. It’s classic Toto with an excellent solo and I kept my old 1985 melody solo Dave wanted me to do... Old meets new but since legendary pal Al Schmitt cut the tracks and Bob Clearmountain sounds like it was done 2 weeks ago not 30 + years ago!”

All fans who pre-order the album beginning today will receive "Alone" as an instant-grat track. You can listen to the song below.

“Alone is a brand-new song” Lukather remarked. “This one was written with just the four of us really writing together and no one else in the room with us. We wanted to start with an ‘up’ song in terms of groove for the album. The lyric is darker but we are older guys now ands have lived life. The good, bad and ugly... we have lived it all and in the end we are all alone anyway. Proud of this piece and it just sort of organically happened.”

The third new track on 40 Trips Around The Sun, "Struck By Lightning", began with David Paich. “I had the opening riff in my head for months,” Paich said. “Joe and the guys helped flesh this one out. I love the heavy arrangement and Luke’s solo on it is an all time great!”

Beginning on February 11 in Helsinki, the band will begin the first leg of their worldwide 40 Trips Around The Sun tour in support of their 40th anniversary. 36 shows in Europe have been announced to date. The tour will be the band’s most extensive run in years and is expected to hit the US later in 2018. More shows will be announced shortly.

Few ensembles in the history of recorded music have individually or collectively had a larger imprint on pop culture than the members of Toto. As individuals, the band members can be heard on an astonishing 5000 albums that together amass a sales history of a half a billion albums. Amongst these recordings, NARAS applauded the performances with more than 200 Grammy nominations. Toto has over 400 million streams on Spotify alone along while views on YouTube far exceed over a half billion.

With close to 40 years together and literally thousands of credits, including the biggest selling album of all time: Michael Jackson’s Thriller, and accolades to their names, Toto remains one of the top selling touring and recording acts in the world. They are the benchmark by which many artists base their sound and production, and they continue to transcend the standards set by the entire music community, being simply synonymous with musical credibility. Their repertoire continues to be current via high profile usage on broadcast television. They are pop culture, and are one of the few 70’s bands that have endured the changing trends and styles to a career enjoy a multi-generational worldwide fan base.

40 Trips Around The Sun tracklisting:

"Spanish Sea"
"I'll Supply The Love"
"I'll Be Over You"
"Stranger In Town"
"Struck By Lightning"
"Afraid Of Love"
"I Won't Hold You Back"
"Jake To The Bone"
"Stop Loving You"
"Hold The Line"
"George Porgy"


Tour dates:

11 - Helsinki, Finland - Icehall
12 - Tallinn, Estonia - Nordea Concert Hall
14 - Stockholm, Sweden - Fryshuset
16 - Oslo, Norway - Spektrum
17 - Copenhagen, Denmark - Forum
19 - Hamburg, Germany - Mehr! Theater
21 - Dusseldorf, Germany - Mitsubishi-Electric Hall
22 - Munich, Germany - Olympiahalle
24 - Berlin, Germany - C-Halle
25 - Leipzig, Germany - Haus Auensee
27 - Prague, Czech Republic - Forum Karlin
28 - Krakow, Poland - Tauron Arena

2 - Vienna, Austria - Gasometer
4 - Sofia, Bulgaria - National Palace Of Culture
5 - Skopje, Macedonia - Boris Trajkovski Sports Hall
9 - Zagreb, Croatia - Dom Sportova
10 - Milan, Italy - Mediolanum Forum
12 - Zurich, Switzerland - Hallenstadion
13 - Stuttgart, Germany - Porsche Arena
15 - Lille, France - Zenith
17 - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Ziggo Dome
18 - Brussels, Belgium - Forest National
20 - Offenbach, Germany - Stadthalle
22 - Geneva, Switzerland - Arena Geneva
23 - Bologna, Italy - Unipol Arena
25 - Marseille, France - Dome
26 - Toulouse, France - Zenith
27 - Lyon, France - Halle Tony Garnier
29 - Luxembourg City, Luxembourg - Rockhal
30 - Paris, France - La Seine Musicale

1 - London, UK - Royal Albert Hall
2 - Manchester, UK - Bridgewater Hall
4 - Dublin, Ireland - Vicar Street
5 - Dublin, Ireland - Vicar Street
7 - Belfast, Ireland - Waterfront Auditorium
8 - Glasgow, Scotland - SEC Armadillo

Tickets are available now from

Featured Audio

THE DEAD DAISIES – “Holy Ground (Shake The Memory)” (SPV)

THE DEAD DAISIES – “Holy Ground (Shake The Memory)” (SPV)

Featured Video

RICH DAVIS – “Eyes Colored Black”

RICH DAVIS – “Eyes Colored Black”

Latest Reviews