TOTO's "Africa" Streamed Over 1 Billion Times At Spotify; New Tour Dates Confirmed, Including Shows With JOURNEY

November 16, 2021, 2 weeks ago

news classic rock toto journey

TOTO's "Africa" Streamed Over 1 Billion Times At Spotify; New Tour Dates Confirmed, Including Shows With JOURNEY

Toto’s “Africa” recently crossed the threshold of 1 billion streams on Spotify. This accomplishment speaks to the continual discovery of the band’s repertoire, alongside the multi-generational fan base enjoying a composition that is nearing forty years since the band’s album IV was released.

Co-writer David Paich shares, “This surpasses a dream come true! Thank you to our family, friends and fans! ‘Africa’ is the result of a team effort in the studio – resulting in musical magic! And thanks to Spotify for helping Toto connect with so many awesome listeners. I know my co-writer Jeff Porcaro would be smiling and celebrating this moment with us.” Cumulative Spotify streams exceed 3.3 Billion plays.

Toto has announced the band will stage eighteen appearances with Journey in arenas across The United States. The run begins on April 7 at Pechanga Arena in San Diego, CA and ends on May 11 at XL Center in Hartford, CT.

Toto’s Steve Lukather shares, “'On behalf of myself and the band, we are very honored and excited to do this tour with our old and dear friends Journey. Gonna be a great night of music, and as all the guys are lifelong friends... a blast off stage as well.”

General on-sale is Friday, November 19. See dates below.

The global tour that will commence in 2022 will stretch several years, and is presented by Toto co-founder and musical director David Paich. Joining Steve Lukather and Joseph Williams on the road are new band members bassist John Pierce (Huey Lewis and The News), drummer Robert “Sput” Searight (Ghost-Note), and keyboardist / background vocalist Steve Maggiora (Robert Jon & The Wreck). Keyboardist Dominique “Xavier” Taplin (Prince, Ghost-Note) and multi-instrumentalist / vocalist Warren Ham (Ringo Starr) segued over continuing their tenure in the ensemble. This marks the fifteenth incarnation of the Toto line-up in consideration of band members or sidemen who joined or exited.

Toto recently released With A Little Help From My Friends via The Players Club / Mascot Label Group. The title track, which presents the new lineup of Toto, can be viewed below:

Steve Lukather offers, “When the music is performed by great musicians it honors Toto. The documentary featured on the DVD offers great insights in to our thoughts looking forward. David, who stands with us, alongside Joe and myself, desire to keep this music alive. And Paich could pop in any time for a show as a special surprise. We’ll be selecting a broader mix from the Toto catalog that includes deep cuts, the hits, and tunes from Joe and my recently released solo albums. Both of us could not be more thrilled with the global response to these records.”

Luke and Joseph Williams are life-long friends since they were kids, and bandmates sharing a deep colorful history that has thrived professionally on a global basis over the past decades. Joseph Williams shares, “Luke and I have been through a lot with one another. He’s like a brother to me. Our creative partnership has always enriched our lives. As we look towards what’s to come in unison, there is nothing but anticipation to bring everything in our minds to life. I can’t think of anyone else on Earth I’d rather launch the next chapter with than with this lifelong, loyal and gifted friend and band mate. We’re the last men standing…The Dogz of Oz.”

With A Little Help From My Friends was Produced by Joseph Williams, who also edited the accompanying long-form video. The band’s long-time front of house engineer Ken Freeman mixed and captured the sound. On February 26, Luke and Joe presented solo albums via The Players Club / Mascot Label Group which charted in multiple territories across the globe. Both artists made significant contributions to the other’s recordings. Additionally, David Paich performed on select tracks on Luke’s I Found The Sun Again and Williams’ Denizen Tenant. The titles were released on LP, CD and a limited-edition deluxe edition is available with the two titles bundled together.

Tour dates are listed below.

April (with Journey)
7 - San Diego, CA - Pechanga Arena San Diego
9 - Glendale, AZ - Gila River Arena
11 - Denver, CO - Ball Arena
13 - Dallas, TX - American Airlines Center
15 - New Orleans, LA - Smoothie King Center
20 - Tampa, FL - Amalie Arena
21 - Orlando, FL - Amway Center
24 - Cincinnati, OH - Heritage Bank Center
25 - Atlanta, GA - State Farm Arena
27 - Nashville, TN - Bridgestone Arena
28 - Charlotte, NC - Spectrum Center
30 - Columbus, OH - Schottenstein Center

2  - Rosemont, IL Allstate Arena
4 - Grand Rapids, MI Van Andel Arena
5 - Indianapolis, IN Gainbridge Fieldhouse
7 - Cleveland, OH Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse
9 - Washington, D.C. Capitol One Arena
11 - Hartford, CT XL Center

European tour dates (additional shows to follow in the coming weeks):

11 - Tilburg, Netherlands - 13
12 - Tilburg, Netherlands - 13
14 - Bonn, Germany - KunstRasen
15 - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Ziggodome
16 - Halle, Germany - Peißnitzinsel
17 - Ulm, Germany - Munsterplatz
19 - Pratteln, Switzerland Z-7
20 - Tussling, Germany - Schlossplatz
21 - Middelkerke, Belgium - Proximus Pop-Up Arena
23 - Vitrolles, France - Festival Jardin Sonore
24 - Vienne, France - Antiq Theater
25 - Verona, Italy - Arena Di Verona
27 - Hamburg, Germany - Stadtpark
28 - Schwetzingen, Germany - Schlossgarten
29 - Graz, Austria - Messe Open Air
31 - Warsaw, Poland - Torwar

4 - Vaasa, Finland Vaasa Festival
5 - Tampere, Finland Tampere Sorsapuisto Festival
6 - Helsinki, Finland Kaisaniemi Park
7 - Turku, Finland Paavo Nurmi Stadium / Park
10 - Helsingborg, Sweden - Sofiero Castle
11 - Viborg, Denmark - Paradepladsen
13 - Copenhagen, Denmark -  Royal Arena
14 - Gothenburg, Sweden -  Partille Arena
16 - Trondeim, Norway - Sverresborg
18 - Oslo, Norway  - Vulkan Open
19 - Bergen, Norway - Plenen

Featured Audio

HYPOCRISY – “Children Of The Gray” (Nuclear Blast)

HYPOCRISY – “Children Of The Gray” (Nuclear Blast)

Latest Reviews