DESPISED ICON Release Guitar/Bass Playthrough Video For "Dead Weight"; Purgatory Tab Book Available

December 2, 2019, 2 months ago

news heavy metal black death despised icon

DESPISED ICON Release Guitar/Bass Playthrough Video For "Dead Weight"; Purgatory Tab Book Available

Canadian deathcore pioneers, Despised Icon, recently released their sixth full length album, Purgatory, via Nuclear Blast. Today, the band releases a guitar and bass playthrough for "Dead Weight", featuring Eric Jarrin, Ben Landreville and Sebastien Piché. Watch below.

Eric Jarrin comments, "We chose 'Dead Weight' because we feel it's one of the most complete songs on the album, musically speaking. It showcases technical riffs, slam parts, tremolo picking, breakdowns, a guitar solo and even a bass solo! It has everything."

The band have also announced the release of their very first tab book, courtesy of their friends at Sheet Happens Publishing. The printed & digital books come with an instant download pack containing the print-ready guitar book PDF (eBook) and the complete guitar pro files. Purchase your Despised Icon Purgatory tab book here.

Purgatory was produced by Yannick St-Amand, Eric Jarrin and Alex Erian. The music was recorded by Despised Icon's former guitar player, now current front of house engineer Yannick St-Amand while the vocals were recorded by close friend Antoine Lussier of Ion Dissonance. Mixing and mastering were completed by Cryptopsy's very own Christian Donaldson at The Grid in Montreal.

Without a doubt their most dynamic venture to date, Despised Icon have a fresh and energy filled arrangement just waiting to see the light of day in the form of Purgatory. For many years, they have laid the foundation of Deathcore and spearheaded different sounds and movements within the genre.

Purgatory is available in the following formats:

- CD Jewel
- Vinyl
- Grey with Black Splatter Vinyl

Order in the format of your choice here.

Purgatory tracklisting:

"Dernier Souffle"
"Light Speed"
"Slow Burning"
"Snake In The Grass"
"Vies D'Anges"
"Moving On"
"Apex Predator"
"Dead Weight"

"Light Speed" lyric video:

"Snake In The Grass" video:

"Purgatory" video:

(Photo - Eric Sanchez)

Featured Audio

VISIONS OF ATLANTIS – “A Life Of Our Own” (Napalm)

VISIONS OF ATLANTIS – “A Life Of Our Own” (Napalm)

Featured Video

BLEED THE SKY Premieres "Serpent"

BLEED THE SKY Premieres "Serpent"

Latest Reviews