EXUMER's Hostile Defiance Album Due In April; Title Track Music Video Streaming; European Tour Dates Confirmed

February 12, 2019, 6 months ago

news heavy metal exumer

EXUMER's Hostile Defiance Album Due In April; Title Track Music Video Streaming; European Tour Dates Confirmed

On April 5th, legendary multinational thrash metallers Exumer will release their fifth full-length, Hostile Defiance, via Metal Blade Records.

Hostile Defiance is exactly what its title suggests. A 42-minute full on attack, the thrash faction hold nothing back as they unleash hell as only they can, yet with more variety and dynamics than ever before. "We wanted to sonically progress, incorporating more melodic elements in the music as well as more rhythmic variety," states vocalist Mem Von Stein. "We are a lot braver trying to create an up to date and relevant sound that can easily stand alone in today's thrash landscape without sounding trite or a throwback, and we're challenging the listener not to get too comfortable with one specific feel, tempo or pace."

For a preview of the album, the video for the first single, "Hostile Defiance", can be seen below. The clip was created by renowned cover artist Costin Chioreanu (At The Gates, Voivod, etc.), who also made the album artwork and layout for Hostile Defiance.

Fans can pre-order Hostile Defiance here in the following formats:

- ltd. digipak-CD w/2 bonus tracks
- 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
- orange red marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 400 copies)
- red-brown/black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 300 copies)
- pale blackberry marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 200 copies)
- orange-black color in color + red splattered (EU exclusive - limited to 120 copies)
- white / blue marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 100 copies)
- clear/red&black splattered vinyl (US exclusive - limited to 120 copies)

Hostile Defiance marks Exumer's third time working with producer Dennis Koehne (Sodom, Melechesh). Tracking the album in studios in Dortmund and Frankfurt, the sessions were marked with "super positive vibes all around with a strong, driven work ethic to create an optimal product." The band plans to tour the record hard, and will be hitting the road in Europe when the album drops, and from that point onward, they will be visiting as many countries as possible. "Our goal is simple: to further establish the band as one of the main German thrash metal acts that began in the 1980s and are now carrying the torch into the 2020s."

Hostile Defiance tracklisting:

"Hostile Defiance"
"Carnage Rider"
"Dust Eater"
"King's End"
"The Order Of Shadows"
"Vertical Violence"
"He's A Woman - She's A Man" (Scorpions cover; CD bonus track)
"Supposed To Rot" (Entombed cover; CD bonus track)

"Hostile Defiance" video:

Exumer will be touring Europe around album release and will present new songs, plus their classics, on the road. See below for all dates.

29 - Drachten, Netherlands - Iduna
30 - Hamburg, Germany - Bambi Galore
31 - Essen, Germany - Turock

2 - Montpellier, France - Secret Place
3 - Irun, Spain - Sala Tunk
4 - Valladolid, Spain - Porta Caeli
5 - Pamplona, Spain - Sala Totem
6 - Oviedo, Spain - Sir Laurens
7 - Madrid, Spain - We Rock
9 - Granada, Spain - Salal Planta Baja
10 - Sevilla, Spain - Sala Even
11 - Malaga, Spain - Sala Trinchera
12 - Murcia, Spain - Sala Gramma
13 - Castellon, Spain - Burbuja
14 - Barcelona, Spain - Sala Sidecar

7 - Muhlteich, Germany - Chronical Moshers Festival
8 - Berlin, Germany - BiNuu
9 - Oschersleben, Germany - Rock & Metal Dayz
21 - Gardelegen, Germany - Metal Frenzy
22 - Bussfeld, Germany - M.i.s.e. Open Air 2019

9 - Lisboa Vagos, Portugal - Metal Festival
10 - Jaromer, Czech Republic - Brutal Assault

Exumer lineup:

Mem V. Stein - vocals
Ray Mensh - guitars
T. Schiavo - bass
Matthias Kassner - drums
Marc B. - guitars

Featured Audio

TORCHE - "Admission" (Relapse)

TORCHE - "Admission" (Relapse)

Featured Video

GREYSTONE CANYON Premiere "Path We Stray"

GREYSTONE CANYON Premiere "Path We Stray"

Latest Reviews