HEIDEVOLK Premier "Ontwaakt" Music Video

December 1, 2017, 10 months ago

news heavy metal heidevolk

HEIDEVOLK Premier "Ontwaakt" Music Video

After having released details of their forthcoming Heidevolk album including the title, artwork, tracklisting and release date, it’s time to get a first listen to the new record.

The first track of the record as well as first single to be released is “Ontwaakt” (awaken), the band gives a deeper insight of the track and story behind: "Awaken, the Roman Empire is falling! The internal battle for power tears the Empire apart. Legions turn against each other, emperors bleed and Rome burns. It is time for the tribes of the Northern lands to unite and rise against the tyrant. To take back what is theirs and drive the invaders back to Rome. Every battle that is fought by my people resounds in Rome. With sword and shield the Empire will be banished and the voice of my people will be heard!"

Furthermore songwriter Rowan Roodbaert comments: “Ladies and gentlemen, brothers and sisters, we proudly present the first single of our new album. This is “Ontwaakt” (“Awaken”), the opening track of Vuur Van Verzet. An in-your-face metal song that tells the ageless story of revolt and resistance set against the backdrop of the historic collapse of the Roman empire. Heavy guitars, thundering drums and Heidevolks’ trademark dual vocal harmonies will catapult you back in time. Imagine a battlefield where Romans are being pushed back by Germanic warriors. Well, this is the soundtrack. Now awaken, the Pagan Metal Brotherhood is on the rise!!!”

Heidevolk are the true definition of Pagan metal brotherhood. These Dutchmen hold up the flag for intelligent and perfectly balanced Pagan folk metal like no other. It's time to unveil the info on their brand new release, Vuur van Verzet, set to be released on January 12th.

The band states: “We are excited to announce our long-awaited new album Vuur van Verzet ("Fire of Resistance"). An album that catapults you to a battlefield where a failing Roman empire is retreating and Germanic tribes are on the rise to claim back what is theirs. It will guide you through the great migrations and tell the tale of early traditions, gods and nature. We've fitted these stories in 11 songs that emphasize the characteristic Heidevolk sound but also underline the progression of our songwriting. Fast metal riffing combined with a our trademark dual male vocals, a 24 piece male choir, various folk musicians, a string ensemble and the raw guest vocals of Primordials' Nemtheanga make Vuur van Verzet an album that shows its teeth… in a bombastic way. Join us, the Pagan metal brotherhood is on the rise!"

Album artwork by Awik Balaian, full tracklisting and available formats below.

Vuur van Verzet tracklisting:

“A Wolf In My Heart”
“Yngwaz Zonen”
“The Alliance”
“Het Oneindige Woud”
“Het Juk der Tijd”
“Drink op de Nacht” (Bonus Track)
“Een Wolf in mijn Hart” (Bonus Track)

Available formats:

- 1 CD 6-pages Digipack incl. 24 pages booklet
- 1 LP Gatefold, black and limited golden vinyl
- Ltd Edition Album Bundle incl. 6-pages Digipack, Leather wristband, flag, patch
- Digital Album Download
Get your hands on your exclusive pre-order here.

Heidevolk will be hitting the road for an European tour run together with their label mates in Arkona as well as Finish folk metal outfit Korpiklaani in 2018. Check out all dates below and make sure to grab your tickets soon.
15 - Antwerp, Belgium - Trix
16 - Hamburg, Germany - Markthalle
17 - Oberhausen, Germany - Turbinehalle 2 *
18 - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Melkweg *
19 - Saarbrucken, Germany - Garage **
20 - Paris, France - Elysee Montmartre
21 - Nantes, France - Stereolux
22 - Toulouse, France - Le Bikini
23 - Madrid, Spain - Sala But
24 - Barcelona, Spain - Salamandra 1
25 - Lyon, France - Transbordeur
26 - Vevey, Switzerland - The Rocking Chair **
27 - Aschaffenburg, Germany - Colos-Saal
28 - Berlin, Germany - Columbia Theater

1 - Prague, Czech Republic - Meet Factory
2 - Munich, Germany - Backstage *
3 - Stuttgart, Germany - LKA *
4 - Pratteln, Switzerland - Z7
5 - Milano, Italy - Magazzini Generali
6 - Salzburg, Austria - Rockhouse **
7 - Graz, Austria - Orpheum
8 - Vienna, Austria - Simm City
9 - Leipzig, Germany - Hellraiser *
10 - Geiselwind, Germany - Musichall *
11 - Hannover, Germany - Capitol
* extended shows with Black Messiah, Evertale & The Privateers
** no Arkona
Heidevolk lineup:

Lars - Vocals
Jacco - Vocals
Kevin Vruchtbaert - Guitar
Kevin Storm - Guitar
Rowan Roodbaert    - Bass
Joost Vellenknotscher - Drums

(Photo - Kevin Storm)

Featured Audio

SKÁLMÖLD - "Sverðið" (Napalm)

SKÁLMÖLD - "Sverðið" (Napalm)

Featured Video

LUTHARÖ Premiere “Unleash The Beast”

LUTHARÖ Premiere “Unleash The Beast”

Latest Reviews