JOE SATRIANI Reschedules Shapeshifting European Tour To April / May 2021

March 25, 2020, 9 days ago

news joe satriani riff notes

JOE SATRIANI Reschedules Shapeshifting European Tour To April / May 2021

Guitar virtuoso Joe Satriani has checked in with the following announcement:
"The current COVID-19 virus has now reached pandemic proportions and is making daily life for all of us very challenging. As always, my concern for the health and safety of my fans, my band and crew always takes precedence when touring, and now is no exception. I’ve had to make the difficult but necessary decision to postpone the firstst leg of the European Shapeshifting Tour and we are working to reschedule the shows that are affected. Please hold on to your tickets for the rescheduled tour date. Let’s band together to beat this virus and rock another day.”

The rescheduled tour dates for 2021 are as follows:
9 - Zurich, Switzerland - Volkshaus Zurich
10 - Winterbach, Germany - Salierhalle
12 - Aarhus, Denmark - Train
13 - Odense, Denmark - Posten
14 -  Copenhagen, Denmark - Amager Bio 
15 - Stockholm, Sweden - Fryshuset
16 - Oslo, Norway - Rockefeller
18 - Mainz, Germany - Rheingoldhalle 
19 - Berlin, Germany - Huxleys
20 - Numberg, Germany - Löwensaal 
21 - Karlsruhe, Germany - Tollhaus
23 - Antwerp, Belgium - De Roma Borgerhout
24 - Enschede, Netherlands - Muziekcentrum Enschede
25 - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Melkweg
26 - Heerlen, Netherlands - RABOzaal Heerlen
27 - Oberhausen, Germany - Turbinenhalle
30 - Birmingham, UK - Birmingham Symphony Hall
1 - Bexhill, UK - Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion
2 - Manchester, UK - Bridgewater Hall
4 - London, UK - Palladium
5 - Gateshead, UK - Sage
6 - Glasgow, UK - O2 Academy

Joe Satriani’s new studio album, Shapeshifting, is set for release on April 10 via Sony Music/Legacy Recordings. Check out a visualizer for the new song, "Big Distortion", below:

Pre-order Shapeshifting here.

In addition to the CD and standard black vinyl, the D2C store will offer an exclusive translucent blue colored, signed vinyl. Additional offerings will include stemless wine glasses, coffee mugs, koozies, crew socks, guitar picks and a t-shirt - all featuring Joe’s original artwork. Also available, an autographed CD via pre-order with Newbury Comics online retails store.

Shapeshifting was co-produced by Satriani and Jim Scott (Foo Fighters, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers) with longtime associate John Cuniberti on board handling the mastering duties. Satriani enlisted a wide range of collaborators, both old and new, to help him bring the songs to life. Legendary drummer Kenny Aronoff (John Fogerty), bassist Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction) and keyboardist Eric Caudieux were the core musicians on the new album with additional contributions coming from Lisa Coleman (The Revolution) and Christopher Guest.

The retro feeling sounds of first single, “Nineteen Eighty” finds Satriani spiritually revisiting the time period when he was working with his first band, the Squares. The future guitar hero the world came to know less than a decade later, would have to wait. He recalls that in those early days, they “dialed back the guitar solos and histrionics to try to create a cooler new wave vibe.” Decades removed from those goals, he was free to go forward and attempt to recapture what was on his mind in 1980.

Staying true to the sounds of the time, he even used a vintage MXR EVH phaser. “I’ve always been a huge fan of Eddie Van Halen,” Satriani says. “In my mind, he just crystallized that era. The late ‘70s and early ‘80s, he kind of saved rock guitar. So that’s what I would have been doing.”


"Big Distortion"
"All For Love"
"Ali Farka, Dick Dale, An Alien And Me"
"Perfect Dust"
"Nineteen Eighty"
"All My Friends Are Here"
"Spirits, Ghosts And Outlaws"
"Falling Stars"
"Here The Blue River"
"Yesterday’s Yesterday"

“Nineteen Eighty” video:

Featured Audio

NIGHTWISH – “Noise” (Nuclear Blast)

NIGHTWISH – “Noise” (Nuclear Blast)

Latest Reviews