KILLSWITCH ENGAGE Post Guitar Tab For New Song "I Am Broken Too", Invite Fans To Share Their Interpretations Online; Videos Available

July 9, 2019, 4 months ago

news killswitch engage heavy metal riff notes

KILLSWITCH ENGAGE Post Guitar Tab For New Song "I Am Broken Too", Invite Fans To Share Their Interpretations Online; Videos Available

Gearing up for the release of their new album, Atonement, Killswitch Engage has shared the guitar tabs for the as-yet-unheard song "I Am Broken Too", inviting the fans to "grab your guitar, camera, and post your interpretations to YouTube before you can hear how we play it for a chance to win a prize bundle!"

Check out some of the results below.


Killswitch Engage will release their new album, Atonement, on August 16 via Metal Blade/Sony Music Entertainment. Pre-order options are available here. The album's first single, "Unleashed", can be streamed below.

"'Unleashed' is about inner passion and rage coming up to the surface," said singer Jesse Leach. "We all have that wild within that often stays dormant until a tragic event triggers and awakens it. This song is about that awakening within. I feel we were able to capture something raw and intense on this song and I'm stoked for everyone to hear it! The new album Atonement is a reflection of perseverance and passion through the trials and suffering of our existence."

Indeed, Atonement is the culmination of a trying and turbulent two-year period. KsE started kicking around ideas for the album as early as 2017. The band recorded the bulk of the material separately on both coasts. However, in the middle of the process, a polyp developed scar tissue in Leach's throat, forcing him to undergo surgery. The intense three-month recovery ended with speech therapy, vocal therapy, and scream therapy. The band ultimately emerged with an album that is further evidence of their undeniable legacy as one of the most enduring metal bands of the last two decades and beyond.

The elaborate illustration on the Atonement album cover was created by none other than talented UK based artist Richey Beckett (Metallica, Mastodon) with the band's own Mike D'Antonio handling art direction and layout duties.

Atonement tracklisting:

"The Signal Fire" (feat. Howard Jones)
"Us Against the World"
"The Crownless King" (feat. Chuck Billy)
"I Am Broken Too"
"As Sure as the Sun Will Rise"
"Know Your Enemy"
"Take Control"
"I Can't Be the Only One"
"Bite the Hand That Feeds"


KsE will spend the summer on a co-headline tour with Clutch, followed by a just-announced fall Europe headline tour. All confirmed dates are below.

July (with Clutch)
11 - London, ON - Rock The Park#
12 - Syracuse, NY - SI Hall
13 - Inwood, WV - Earth Rocker Fest#
14 - Myrtle Beach, SC - House of Blues
16 - Fort Wayne, IN - The Clyde
18 - Sioux City, IA - Hard Rock & Casino
19 - Cadott, WI - Cadott Rock Fest#
20 - OshKosh, WI - Rock USA#
22 - Tulsa, OK - The Brady Theater
23 - St. Louis, MO - The Pageant
25 - Bethlehem, PA - Sands Event Center
26 - Asbury Park, NJ - Stone Pony Outdoors
27 - Montreal, QC - Heavy MTL#
28 - Bangor, ME - Impact Festival#
30 - Huntington, NY - The Paramount

August (with Clutch)
1 - Columbus, OH - Express Live!
2 - Pittsburgh, PA - Stage AE Outdoors
3 - Port Chester, NY - Capital Theater
4 - Worcester, MA - Palladium Outdoors

# festival
^ KsE Only


14 - Norwich, UK - UEA
15 - Bristol, UK - O2 Academy
17 - Glasgow, UK - Barrowland
18 - Manchester, UK - Academy
19 - Birmingham, UK -O2 Academy
20 - London, UK - O2 Academy Brixton
22 - Brussels, Belgium - AB
23 - Amsterdam, Holland - Melkweg
25 - Oberhausen, Germany - Turbinenhalle  
26 - Berlin, Germany - Huxleys
28 - Helsinki, Finland - Circus
30 - Stockholm, Sweden - Fryshuset  
31 - Oslo, Norway - Rockefeller  

1 - Karlstad, Sweden - Nojesfabriken  
2 - Copenhagen, Denmark - Amager Bio
4 - Warsaw, Poland - Stodola
5 -Leipzig, Germany - Werk 2  
6  - Munich, Germany - Tonehalle  
8  - Lausanne, Switzerland - Les Docs  
9 - Prattelen, Switzerland - Z7  
10 -  Nurnberg, Germany - Loewensaal

(Photo - Travis Shinn)

Featured Audio

MOTÖRHEAD – “Stay Clean” (Live At Friars, 1979) (BMG)

MOTÖRHEAD – “Stay Clean” (Live At Friars, 1979) (BMG)

Featured Video

Exclusive: WITHIN NOSTALGIA Premieres “Death Lifes’ Lover” Video

Exclusive: WITHIN NOSTALGIA Premieres “Death Lifes’ Lover” Video

Latest Reviews