MARTY FRIEDMAN On Nearly Auditioning For MADONNA - "I Would Have Played With Madonna In A Heartbeat At That Time, I Was Really Borderline Homeless"; Audio

January 2, 2019, 5 months ago

news riff notes marty friedman madonna

MARTY FRIEDMAN On Nearly Auditioning For MADONNA - "I Would Have Played With Madonna In A Heartbeat At That Time, I Was Really Borderline Homeless"; Audio

Jimmy Kay from Canada’s The Metal Voice recently spoke to legendary guitarist Marty Freidman, who released his latest live album, One Bad M.F. Live!!, on October 19th via Prosthetic Records

Marty spoke about his new live album, his thoughts on bands fixing their live albums in the studio, his thoughts on bands lip-syncing on stage, and his love for the band Riot. He also offers an update on his friend Jason Becker.

When asked about his eagerness to audition for Madonna back in the 80’s, Marty reveals: "It never happened as I had another major audition opportunity the same week. I would have played with Madonna in a heartbeat at that time, I was really borderline homeless. I was living with various chicks and stuff like that, typical Hollywood sponge of type of dude and really nothing to be proud of but that's the way it was back then. I always liked Madonna. I knew about the Madonna audition it was like a casting call thing. I lived in Hollywood so l had my ears to the ground about any single thing that was going on. I was always trying to move into some kind of band situation back then and in trying every possible thing."

Friedman will show fans that he’s One Bad M.F. Live!! as he brings his new live album to life across the country starting January 23rd in San Diego, CA at Brick By Brick. Marty Friedman Meet & Greet Experience VIP packages will be available Friday, October 26th on his official website, which include: one ticket to the show, meet and greet before the show, guitar pick pack, VIP lanyard, autographs and Vault CDs.

His band features the stunning female bassist Kiyoshi, wunderkind guitarist Jordan Ziff, and “The Animal” drummer Chargeeee. “My band outshines me every night,” says Friedman, “You will fall in love with Kiyoshi's stage persona and her playing. I have never seen or heard a bassist like her. Jordan follows in a well-documented tradition of mine, of only playing with super guitarists. Chargeeee will have you laughing as he seems to be straight off The Muppets, while effortlessly bashing through some quite complex drumming.”

Tour dates:

23 - San Diego, CA - Brick By Brick
24 - Anaheim, CA - The Parish at the House of Blues
26 - Phoenix, AZ - The Rebel Lounge
27 - Tucson, AZ - 191 Toole
30 - San Antonio, TX - The Rock Box
31 - Houston, TX - Scout Bar

1 - Austin, TX - Come And Take It Live
2 - Dallas, TX - Trees
4 - Oklahoma City, OK - 89th Street - OKC
6 - Sauget, IL - Pop's Nightclub
7 - Kansas City, MO - The Riot Room
8 - Iowa City, IA - Gabe's
9 - Minneapolis, MN - Studio B at the Skyway Theatre
10 - Madison, WI - High Noon Saloon
12 - Milwaukee, WI - Shank Hall
13 - Chicago, IL - Reggie’s Rock Club
14 - Indianapolis, IN - The Hi-Fi - Indianapolis
15 - Chesterfield, MI - Diesel Concert Lounge
16 - Cleveland Heights, OH - The Grog Shop
17 - Pittsburgh, PA - Crafthouse
19 - Philadelphia, PA - Voltage Lounge
20 - Allston, MA - Brighton Music Hall
22 - Brooklyn, NY - Saint Vitus
23 - Garwood, NJ - Crossroads NJ
24 - Baltimore, MD - Ottobar

One Bad M.F. Live!! is available on all digital platforms, compact disc, and as a 2LP gatefold set with glow-in-the-dark wax as one variant and black sparkle with clear splatter as the other. Order here.

One Bad M.F. Live!! tracklisting:

"Street Demon"
"Amagi Goe"
"Self Pollution"
"Devil Take Tomorrow"
Mutation Medley (featuring "Asche zu Asche", "My Oh My", "Forbidden City", "Tornado Of Souls")
"Dragon Mistress"
"Kaeritakunatta Yo"

Bonus tracks, Digital only:

"Hyper Doom"
"Stigmata Addiction"

"Kaeritakunatta Yo":

"Dragon Mistress":

"Mutation Medley":

"Whiteworm" video:

Featured Audio

GLORYHAMMMER – “Gloryhammer” (Napalm)

GLORYHAMMMER – “Gloryhammer” (Napalm)

Featured Video

RICH DAVIS Premieres “Dr. Me…” Video

RICH DAVIS Premieres “Dr. Me…” Video

Latest Reviews