OBSCURA Share “Mortification Of The Vulgar Sun” Music Video; Full Headlining North American Tour Announced

July 13, 2018, 7 months ago

news black death obscura

OBSCURA Share “Mortification Of The Vulgar Sun” Music Video; Full Headlining North American Tour Announced

Germany's progressive death metal masters Obscura celebrate the release of their fifth studio album Diluvium with the “Mortification Of The Vulgar Sun” music video. Watch below, and listen to the entire new album here

Additionally, Obscura share the official routing for their North American headlining tour beginning September 13th in Oakland, CA and ending October 7th in Los Angeles, CA. The band will be joined by Beyond Creation, Archspire, Inferi & Exist for what is sure to be the most talked about progressive death metal tour of the year. The full list of tour dates is available below.

13 - Oakland, CA - Metro Opera House
14 - Portland, OR - Bossanova Ballroom
15 - Seattle, WA - El Corazon
16 - Vancouver, BC - Rickshaw Theatre
17 - Calgary, AB - Dickens
19 - Salt Lake City, UT - Metro Music Hall
20 - Denver, CO - Marquis Theatre
21 - Kansas City, MO - Riot Room
22 - Joliet, IL - The Forge
23 - Toronto, ON - Velvet Underground
24 - Quebec City, QC - Salle Multi
25 - Worcester, MA - Palladium
26 - Brooklyn, NY - Knitting Factory
27 - Philadelphia, PA - Voltage Lounge
29 - Atlanta, GA - The Masquerade
30 - Orlando, FL - The Haven

1 - New Orleans, LA - Southport Hall
2 - Houston, TX - Scout Bar
3 - Austin, TX - Come and Take It Live!
4 - Dallas, TX - Gas Monkey Gas Bar & Grill
6 - Mesa, AZ - Club Red
7 - Los Angeles, CA - 1720

Diluvium is out now on CD/LP/Digital via Relapse Records. Diluvium physical packages are available via Relapse.com here, and digital downloads / streaming services here.

Recorded with longtime producer V. Santura (Triptykon, Pestilence) at Woodshed Studios in Landshut, Germany, Diluvium is a stunning achievement for the illustrious quartet and a landmark release for progressive metal as a whole. Complete with all the band's signature elements plus groundbreaking polyrhythms, dramatic songwriting, and jaw-dropping virtuosity, Obscura raise the bar once again with an album that will go down in the annals of metal history as one of the most astonishing performances the genre has to offer.  

Album art by Orion Landau.

Diluvium tracklisting:

"Clandestine Stars"
"Emergent Evolution"
"Mortification Of The Vulgar Sun"
"Ethereal Skies"
"The Seventh Aeon"
"The Conjuration"
"An Epilogue To Infinity"
"A Last Farewell" (Bonus Track)

"Ethereal Skies":

"Diluvium" guitar playthrough video:

"Emergent Evolution":

"Diluvium" video:

"Making of" episodes:

(Top photo by: Christian Martin Weiss)

Featured Audio

LAST IN LINE – “Landslide” (Frontiers)

LAST IN LINE – “Landslide” (Frontiers)

Featured Video

PHEAR Guitarist GRAHAM STIRRETT Premieres “Masquerade” Lyric Video

PHEAR Guitarist GRAHAM STIRRETT Premieres “Masquerade” Lyric Video

Latest Reviews