SABATON History Channel Uploads "Long Live The King" - Swedish King Karl XII; Video

July 18, 2019, a month ago

news heavy metal sabaton

SABATON History Channel Uploads "Long Live The King" - Swedish King Karl XII; Video

The Sabaton History Channel has launched Episode 024 - "Long Live The King" - Swedish King Karl XII.

A message states: "The Sabaton song 'Long Live The King' is about the aftermath of the Battle of Poltava in June 1709. The future of Sweden lay in the hands of the parliament at home while the King was in voluntary exile with the Ottomans. What followed was a dark time in Swedish history where everything was uncertain, with an unexpectedly dark ending."

Sabaton release their new album tomorrow, Friday, July 19, via Nuclear Blast. The Great War will be available in various formats:

- CD-Digi (History Edition) incl. narrated parts in addition to the album tracks
- CD (Album Edition)
- 2CD Earbook (Album + History Edition)
- 180g LP in various colors (History Edition)
- 180g LP in various colours (Album Edition)
- 3CD/3LP Box (The Great Box Edition) includes: Earbook incl. “The Soundtrack To The Great War” CD,  regular, History & Soundtrack LPs [180g, green], one out of 11 Great War propaganda posters [chosen at random], postcards, emblem, poem on sheet) – limited to 1000

Pre-order here.

The Great War tracklisting:

"The Future Of Warfare"
"Seven Pillars Of Wisdom"
"82nd All The Way"
"The Attack Of The Dead Men"
"Devil Dogs"
"The Red Baron"
"Great War"
"A Ghost In The Trenches"
"Fields Of Verdun"
"The End Of The War To End All Wars"
"In Flanders Fields"

"Great War" video:

"The Red Baron" lyric video:

“Fields Of Verdun” video:

"Bismarck" video:

Sabaton will make their triumphant return to North American this fall for The Great Tour. The headline excursion will feature support from special guest Hammerfall, and will begin in Ft. Lauderdale, FL on October 4 and will end in Silver Spring, MD on November 3.

Says Sabaton: “North America, prepare for a Swedish invasion! We will reach your shores in early October with our new album The Great War, a bigger production than before & the templars of steel in Hammerfall as special guests! Get ready for a damn good dose of Swedish heavy metal!”

Sabaton's trek to North America coincides with the band’s upcoming 20th Anniversary and their highly-anticipated ninth full-length record, The Great War, which will be released on July 19 via Nuclear Blast Records. Keeping with their tradition of metallic battle hymns about the feats of man in wartime, the new record will be a concept album dedicated entirely to the World War I.

Tour dates:

4 - Ft. Lauderdale, FL - Revolution
5 - Tampa, FL - Jannus Landing
6 - Atlanta, GA - Center Stage
8 - Dallas, TX - House of Blues
10 - Phoenix, AZ - Van Buren
11 - Los Angeles, CA - The Wiltern
12 - San Francisco, CA - The Regency
14 - Portland, OR - Roseland Ballroom
15 - Seattle, WA - Showbox SODO
16 - Vancouver, BC - Vogue Theater
18 - Edmonton, AB - Union Hall
19 - Calgary, AB - The Palace Theater
21 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Complex
23 - Denver, CO - Ogden Theater
25 - Minneapolis, MN - Skyway Theater
26 - Chicago, IL - The Vic Theatre
27 - Cleveland, OH - The Agora Ballroom
29 - Toronto, on - The Danforth Music Hall
30 - Montreal, QC - M Telus

1 - Worcester, MA - Palladium
2 - New York, NY - PlayStation Theater
3 - Silver Spring, MD - The Fillmore

Sabaton have also announced their European tour dates for The Great Tour, with fellow Swedes Amaranthe and Finnish cello rockers Apocalyptica supporting.

"It is with great anticipation that we can finally reveal that The Great Tour is also coming to arenas in Europe. I wish it was already January the 17th and we entered the stage at Hallenstadion in Zürich, but time will pass quickly," announces Pär Sundstöm and adds: "You know by now how much we care about the bands we choose to bring with us on tour, this is no exception. Amaranthe is a rising star on the metal sky bringing such energy and passion rarely seen on stage and will open the evening. After that comes the big surprise for a lot of people who are not familiar with the cello rock band Apocalyptica, but trust us that their emotional show will definitively create magic in the arenas.

Finally, what we are bringing, except for our biggest touring production we ever did… is a promise to deliver a show that you never could imagine and the biggest announcement regarding this tour is still to come."

Tour dates:

17 - Zürich, Switzerland - Hallenstadion
18 - Stuttgart, Germany - Schleyer-Halle
19 - Munich, Germany - Olympiahalle
21 - Vienna, Austria - Gasometer
22 - Budapest, Hungary - Arena
24 - Warsaw, Poland - Arena COS Torwar
25 - Berlin, Germany - Max-Schmeling-Halle
26 - Prague, Czech Republic - O2 Arena
28 - Milan, Italy - Alcatraz
31 - Frankfurt, Germany - Festhalle

1 - Oberhausen, Germany - König-Pilsener-ARENA
2 - Antwerp, Belgium - Lotto Arena
4 - Barcelona, Spain - Palau Sant Jordi
5 - Madrid, Spain - Vistalegre
7 - Paris, France - Zénith
8 - London, UK - Wembley Arena
9 - Amsterdam, Netherlands - AFAS Live
11 - Hamburg, Germany - Sporthalle
12 - Copenhagen, Denmark - Forum Black Box
14 - Gothenburg, Sweden - Scandinavium
15 - Stockholm, Sweden - Hovet
16 - Oslo, Norway - Spektrum

(Photo - Tallee Savage)

Featured Audio

TORCHE - "Admission" (Relapse)

TORCHE - "Admission" (Relapse)

Featured Video

GREYSTONE CANYON Premiere "Path We Stray"

GREYSTONE CANYON Premiere "Path We Stray"

Latest Reviews