SIX FEET UNDER Tap ENTOMBED Bassist Victor Brandt For Hatefest Tour 2015 Featuring MARDUK, VADER

March 10, 2015, 4 years ago

news heavy metal black death six feet under entombed

SIX FEET UNDER Tap ENTOMBED Bassist Victor Brandt For Hatefest Tour 2015 Featuring MARDUK, VADER

April will see the return of the Hatefest Tour. The unholy billing will be headlined by Six Feet Under and includes also Marduk, Vader and Hate. Special guests on all weekend-dates will be Eisregen and Debauchery.

Six Feet Under have announced Victor Brandt (pictured above) will be stepping in for this run of dates on bass. Comments singer Chris Barnes: "Thanks to all the fans for the great response to the upcoming new SFU release Crypt Of The Devil and the first track "Open Coffin Orgy" thank you so much! We are currently getting ready for our upcoming tour with Vader and Marduk on the HateFest tour of Europe. It will be a cataclysmic event. Do not miss it. Also for this run of dates we want to let you know that stepping in for our bass player, Jeff Hughell, will be Victor Brandt from Entombed. Steve Marco and myself are very much looking forward to sharing the stage with Victor while Jeff and his wife Fazi welcome the birth of their first child! It's gonna be a great year for SFU! Can't wait to see you all soon!"

Comments Victor Brandt: "I am very proud and happy to step in for my good friend and Warwick brother Jeff Hughell to play bass with the mighty Six Feet Under for their upcoming tour in Europe. We're gonna have a blast! Be sure to check out this killer tour that also features Marduk, Vader and Hate! See you in the pit and/or the bar."



Hatefest dates with Six Feet Under, Marduk, Vader, Hate plus extended guests Eisregen and Debauchery:


2 - Leipzig, Germany - Hellraiser
3 - Wien, Austria - Gasometer (Extended Show)
4 - Pratteln, Switzerland - Z7 (Extended Show)
5 - Essen, Germany - Weststadhalle (Extended Show)
6 - Saarbrucken, Germany - Garage
7 - Lindau, Germany - Club Vaudeville
8 - Ludwigsburg, Germany - Rockfabrik
9 - Hamburg, Germany - Markthalle
10 - Geiselwind, Germany - Musichall (Extended Show)
11 - Munchen, Germany - Backstage (Extended Show)
12 - Berlin, Germany - Postbahnhof (Extended Show)

Six Feet Under will release their eleventh studio recording this spring via Metal Blade Records. Titled Crypt Of The Devil, the ten track slab of audio violence was composed by vocalist Chris Barnes and Cannabis Corpse bassist/vocalist Phil "Landphil" Hall.

While on tour with Cannabis Corpse in 2013, Barnes and Hall met and kept in touch. Barnes would later lend his vocals to a track on Cannabis Corpse’s From Wisdom To Baked. That same year, Hall and Barnes joined forces to pen brand new Six Feet Under tracks. Barnes lauds Hall's take on the Six Feet Under style of death metal and stated that this material was, "where my wheelhouse is - it's where I thrive vocally and lyrically."

With Crypt Of The Devil, Barnes has worked to continue the overall story from the previous works, wherein he is penning lyrics from the perspective of a serial killer. Or as Barnes describes, it's a "winding journey through his mind. The songs paint a picture that's not necessarily linear, rather a meandering back and forth through a dark soul."

Soon-to-be-classic cuts such as "Open Coffin Orgy" serve as exemplary examples of the fruits of Barnes' macabre muse.

Recording for the album took place at Hall's studio in Virginia. Hall tracked rhythm and bass guitar, while his brother, Josh Hall, tracked drums, and guitarist Brandon Ellis tracked the majority of the album's leads. Barnes took to London Bridge Studio (Pearl Jam, Alice In Chains) in his new base of operations in Seattle, Washington to record vocals and in fact holed himself up in the very same booth where Layne Staley tracked his words. The mix was completed by Rob Caldwell (Cannabis Corpse, Iron Reagan) in Sarasota, Florida and mastering was done by Alan Douches (Cannibal Corpse, Revocation, Torche, Skeletonwitch) at West West Side in New Windsor, New York. Crypt Of The Devil stands as a truly collaborative and cross-country effort from a selection of today's finest metal minds, and the result is a refreshing Six Feet Under experience. Or as refreshing as brutal, visceral death metal can be, anyway.

Sample the sadistic wares of new single “Open Coffin Orgy” below.



Crypt Of The Devil tracklisting:

“Open Coffin Orgy”
“Broken Bottle Rape”
“Break The Cross In Half”
“Lost Remains”
“Slit Wrists”
“The Night Bleeds”
“Compulsion To Brutalize”
“Eternal In Darkness”

“Open Coffin Orgy”:

Six Feet Under began as a side project while Barnes -- owner of what would become one of the most dominating, groundbreaking and instantly distinguishable voices of the death metal genre -- was fronting Cannibal Corpse. Six Feet Under eventually became a full-fledged and unstoppable entity in 1995, and over the course of their career, have consistently helped shape the face of death metal through their uncompromising approach to their craft. Six Feet Under is one of the longest standing and successful acts in death metal history, with all but their debut album appearing on a Billboard chart. The band’s current live lineup will include longtime guitarist Steve Swanson, flanked by Jeff Hughell on bass, and Marco Pitruzella on drums.



Crypt Of The Devil will see release via Metal Blade Records on May 5th, 2015 and includes the outstanding cover art of Mike Hrubovcak (Aurora Borealis, Sinister, Rumplestiltskin Grinder). For a selection of pre-order bundles, go to this location.



Featured Audio

GLORYHAMMMER – “Gloryhammer” (Napalm)

GLORYHAMMMER – “Gloryhammer” (Napalm)

Featured Video

RICH DAVIS Premieres “Dr. Me…” Video

RICH DAVIS Premieres “Dr. Me…” Video

Latest Reviews