THE MAGPIE SALUTE Featuring Former Members Of THE BLACK CROWES To Release Self-Titled Debut Album In June; Artwork Revealed

March 30, 2017, 2 years ago

news classic rock the magpie salute the black crowes

THE MAGPIE SALUTE Featuring Former Members Of THE BLACK CROWES To Release Self-Titled Debut Album In June; Artwork Revealed

The Magpie Salute - a new band bringing together Rich Robinson, Marc Ford and Sven Pipien of The Black Crowes - will release their self-titled debut album worldwide on June 9th via Eagle Rock Entertainment.

Produced by Crowes guitarist and co-founder Robinson, the musically tight and expansive album was recorded live in the studio in front of an audience at Applehead Recording in Woodstock, New York, except for the full studio track "Omission”. The album carries special significance as it marks the last recorded work by Eddie Harsch, the late Black Crowes keyboardist whose signature sound and gentle soul are woven into The Magpie Salute.

The deeply soulful rock "Omission" - written by Robinson and vocalist John Hogg - is the album's first single, arriving to radio in May, with a video to be released shortly thereafter. Look for the band to launch a national headline tour starting July 26th in Indianapolis.

In advance of the album's release, The Magpie Salute will issue a 10" vinyl 45 single of "Comin' Home" and "Glad And Sorry" on Record Store Day, Saturday April 22nd.

The Magpie Salute - driven by the magic of the reunited Robinson and Ford guitar team - features musicians who've played together for decades throughout various projects and share a truly deep musical bond. Joining Robinson, Ford and Pipien in the bandare drummer Joe Magistro and guitarist Nico Bereciartua. The group also boasts a fine cast of vocalists, including Robinson, Ford, lead singer John Hogg (Hookah Brown, Moke), former Crowes singer Charity White and background singers, Adrien Reju and Katrine Ottosen.

There is wide open musical freedom on the band's debut album, with half of the 10 songs coming in over seven minutes in length, and the musicians' wide-ranging roots are reflected in the diverse selections. They offer fresh takes of The Black Crowes' "What Is Home" and "Wiser Time”, and interpret songs by Delaney and Bonnie ("Comin' Home"), Bobby Hutcherson ("Goin' Down South"), War ("War Drums"), Pink Floyd ("Fearless"), the Faces ("Glad and Sorry"), Bob Marley ("Time Will Tell," which The Black Crowes covered on their second album) and the traditional "Ain't No More Cane”.

The Magpie Salute first surfaced this past January with four back-to-back sold-out shows at the Gramercy Theatre in New York. Then came the announcement of their debut in London where the group will perform four concerts at Under The Bridge (April 12th - 15th), with the first show selling out shortly within an hour of the tickets going on pre-sale. This news was followed by the announcement of shows in Chicago (July), San Francisco (September), Boston (August), Atlanta (August) and Los Angeles (September). For more information and to purchase tickets for the band's national headline tour, which will include appearances at festivals worldwide, head to this location.

Tour dates:

12 - London, UK - Under The Bridge
13 - London, UK - Under The Bridge
14 - London, UK - Under The Bridge
15 - London, UK - Under The Bridge

10 - Grolloo, Netherlands - Holland Int. Blues Festival

11 - Frankfurt, Germany - Batschkapp
12 - Munich, Germany - Tollwood Festival
13 - Berlin, Germany - Huxley’s Neue Welt
26 - Indianapolis, IN - Vogue
28 - Chicago, IL - Metro
29 - Chicago, IL - Metro
30 - Detroit, MI - Saint Andrew's

1 - Buffalo, NY - Tralf Music Hall
3 - Boston, MA - The Wilbur
4 - Hartford, CT - Infinity Hall
5 - Hampton Beach, NH - Casino Ballroom
6 - Portland, ME - Aura
8 - New Bedford, MA - The Zeiterion Theatre
9 - Red Bank, NJ - Count Basie Theatre
11 - Scranton, PA - The Peach Music Festival
12 - Silver Spring, MD - The Fillmore
13 - Huntington, NY - The Paramount
15 - Charlotte, NC - Neighborhood Theatre
16 - Raleigh, NC - The Ritz
18 - Atlanta, GA - The Buckhead Theatre
19 - Myrtle Beach, SC - Myrtle Beach Speedway
20 - Asheville, NC - Diana Wortham Theatre
22 - Cincinnati, OH - Bogart's
24 - Louisville, KY - Mercury Ballroom

7 - San Francisco, CA - The Fillmore
8 - San Francisco, CA - The Fillmore
13 - Los Angeles, CA - The Fonda Theatre
15 - San Diego, CA - Kaaboo Del Mar
15 - Telluride, CO - Telluride Blues & Brews Festival
22 - Morrison, CO - Red Rocks Amphitheatre

(Photo - Shervin Lainez)

Featured Audio

ARCHITECTS - "Hereafter" (Epitaph)

ARCHITECTS - "Hereafter" (Epitaph)

Featured Video

OMINOUS ECLIPSE Premieres "Breaking The Chains"

OMINOUS ECLIPSE Premieres "Breaking The Chains"

Latest Reviews