VOIVOD – “We Are Connected” Intro Riff Guitar Lesson Available

September 13, 2017, 10 months ago

news heavy metal voivod riff notes

VOIVOD – “We Are Connected” Intro Riff Guitar Lesson Available

In this guitar lesson video, Daniel Mongrain will show off the intro riff in the Voivod song "We Are Connected." Mongrain will also explain how this riff was inspired by noises from an ATM machine. Lots of dotted eighth notes in this one. Crazy timing! Check out the lesson at PlayThisRiff.com.

PlayThisRiff.com is owned and operated by Bob Balch from Fu Manchu.

Voivod will return to Europe one more time in September/October in order to promote their latest mini-CD release, Post Society EP, before commencing work on their next studio album.

Tour dates with support from Earth Ship:

27 - Bologna - Italy - Locomotiv Club
28. - Roma - Italy - Traffic Club - Italy
29 - Giavera del Montello - Italy - Benicio Live Gigs
30 - Mezzago - Italy - Bloom

2 - Pula - Croatia - Club Uljanik
3 - Zagreb - Croatia - Industrial Bar
4 - Budapest - Hungary - Dürer Kert
5 - Belgrade - Serbia - Dom Omladine
6 - Brasov - Romania - Club Rockstadt
7 - Cluj-Napoca - Romania - Flying Circus
8 - Kosice - Slovakia - Collosseum
9 - Ostrava - Czech Republic - Barrak Music Club
10 - Wroclaw - Poland - Stara Piwnica
11 - Lodz - Poland - Magnetofon
13 - Göteborg - Sweden - Truckstop Alaska
14 - Stockholm - Sweden - Kraken + The Lurking Fear
15 - Copenhagen - Denmark - Stengade
17 - Deventer - The Netherlands - Burgerweeshuis
18 - Wiesbaden - Germany - Schlachthof
19 - Ludwigsburg - Germany - Rockfabrik
20 - Aarburg - Switzerland - Musigburg
21 - Landshut - Germany - Alte Kaserne - no Earth Ship

In conjunction with the European tour, Voivod will be releasing another strictly limited 7” EP in order to complete the vinyl-release of the five songs featured on the Post Society mini-album, after having showcased three tracks already on split 7” EP’s with label-mates At The Gates, Napalm Death and Entombed A.D., the upcoming 7” EP will be entitled Silver Machine and include both the Hawkwind cover-version that serves as its title track as well as the song “Post Society”.

The “Silver Machine” EP is limited to a total of 1000 copies, split up as follows:

Black vinyl - 500 copies: Via CM Distro
White vinyl - 200 copies: Via CM Webshop
Silver vinyl - 300 copies: Via the band on the road

Look out for its release on September 29th, 2017 via CMR as well as during Voivod’s European tour.

Drummer Michel “Away” Langevin, who once again designed the artwork for Silver Machine (see above), checked in with the following update on the band’s current activities: “At this moment we are recording demos and writing the conclusion of the next album, while getting ready for the Wings of Metal Festival here in Montreal. Right after this show we will rehearse a couple of new set lists for the upcoming tour. We are really thrilled to go to Europe again this year, to play in some countries we never visited before. In November, after the tour, we will go to RadicArt studio to record the new material, at last...In the meantime, see you on the road!”

(Top photo - Gaëlle Beri)

Featured Audio

TOMORROW’S EVE – “Terminal” (Amped/Alliance)

TOMORROW’S EVE – “Terminal” (Amped/Alliance)

Featured Video

INFRARED Premiere "All In Favour"

INFRARED Premiere "All In Favour"

Latest Reviews