April 19, 2013, 3 years ago

simon wright che hot flashes brian tichy news queensr

Drummer BRIAN TICHY, who has played with BILLY IDOL, GILBY CLARKE, STEVIE SALAS, WHITESNAKE and FOREIGNER, will fill in for Simon Wright (AC/DC, DIO, RHINO BUCKET) on Geoff Tate's QUEENSRŸCHE's upcoming live dates in June.

Geoff Tate appeared on The Continental Breakfast With James & Raina morning radio show on April 13th. During his on-air chat, Tate was asked why he decided to remix the Frequency Unknown album shortly before its April 23rd release date. He replied:

"We were a little rushed on the mixing end of it, so after listening to it back, we're having some of the songs remixed now before the album comes out. But that's typical with records — you have to have them in on time. So sometimes you compromise in areas. Luckily, with this situation, we get to go back and correct some areas in the sound where we thought it was kind of lacking. So that's fine. I've done that on… gosh… probably three quarters of the records I've ever made. It's no new thing, but it's a luxury when you get to fix it."

Listen to the entire interview below:

Deadline Music/Cleopatra Records has issued 'Cold', the premier single from Frequency Unknown. Mixed by Anthony Focx (NEWSTED, AEROSMITH, NIGHT RANGER, TED NUGENT) the single is available on iTunes and as a special limited-edition 7” vinyl single with a newly-recorded version of the Queensrÿche classic, 'Silent Lucidity', mixed by Jürgen Engler (DORO, DIE KRUPPS) on the B-side.

Check out 'Cold' below:

Frequency Unknown features guest appearances by: K.K. Downing (ex-JUDAS PRIEST), Brad Gillis (NIGHT RANGER), Dave Meniketti (Y&T;), Ty Tabor (KING'S X), Bobby Blotzer (RATT), Craig Locicero (FORBIDDEN, SPIRALARMS) and Paul Bostaph (SLAYER, TESTAMENT, EXODUS).

Frequency Unknown tracklisting:

'When Lightning Strikes'

'Running Backwards'


'Life Without You'

'In The Hands Of God'


'The Weight Of The World'




Bonus Tracks: (2013 Versions)

'Silent Lucidity'


'Jet City Woman'

'I Don t Believe In Love'

On April 14th, Geoff Tate spoke with Jackie at The Age Of Metal in Tempe, AZ. Check out the video interview below:

Geoff Tate's Queensrÿche lineup:

Geoff Tate - vocals


Kelly Gray (Queensrÿche 1998 - 2001) - guitar

Randy Gane - keyboards

Robert Sarzo (QUIET RIOT, HURRICANE) - guitar

Simon Wright (AC/DC, DIO) - drums

Featured Audio

THE WILD! - "Ready To Roll" (eOne)

THE WILD! - "Ready To Roll" (eOne)

Featured Video

RICH DAVIS Takes You To The “Death Star”

RICH DAVIS Takes You To The “Death Star”

Latest Reviews