FLOTSAM AND JETSAM's New Album Being Mixed, Mastered - "This Is Going To Sound Like A Metal Record" Says Drummer Craig Nielsen

May 13, 2010, 9 years ago

hot flashes news flotsam and jetsam

Arizona thrashers FLOTSAM AND JETSAM have scheduled a one-off home state show on Saturday, June 19th at the Orpheum Theater (15 West Aspen Avenue) in Flagstaff. THE HUMAN CONDITION, DISMAY, SIGNAL 99, SHEEPHEADS and AKAIDEN are also on the bill. For ticket information visit this location.

Flotsam And Jetsam's new album, The Cold, is currently being mixed and mastered according to drummer Craig Nielsen who spoke with BraveWords.com recently.

About the direction of the album Nielsen says that "the writing for the record started 2007, which we started recording in 2008, or 2009. I mean, basically let’s just call it 2008-2009 ideas. You know, Mark (Simpson; guitar) had some time for this, and he spent some time writing, whereas Dreams Of Death was sort of rushed and we probably didn’t use the right producer for a metal record on that record. This is going to sound like a metal record. It has a lot of guitar edge and drums are, you know, faster, better, stronger. You know, Jason Ward could basically play bass over almost anything and it’ll have depth. So, you know, we’re very happy with the technical aspect of the song-writing. There’s far more faster, heavier songs on this one. A.K. (Knutson; vocals), he was changing the lyrics up until the minute when he was recording them. I think Dreams Of Death kind of went off in a few different directions. I think this is more cohesive and I won’t call it a concept record. There’s one thing to be said for spontaneity and that’s great to write a few inspired riffs, but to write a whole record and arrange it, you need some time. And Mark had the time and he’s developing more as a songwriter/arranger as time goes on, and he’s getting better at it, and he knows what to get out of the studio better and he knows how to, what, for tones and process, he’s more educated. So we’re way happier with this one than the last couple."

Nielsen says The Cold will be released this summer and will feature original guitarist Michael Gilbert who rejoined the band this past March. Some new song titles are: 'Black Cloud', 'Secret Life', 'Hypocrite', 'Falling Short', 'Take' and 'I'll Beat The Fuck Out Of You' (tentative title).

Watch for more of BraveWords.com's chat with Craig Nielsen in the coming days.

Featured Audio

GLORYHAMMMER – “Gloryhammer” (Napalm)

GLORYHAMMMER – “Gloryhammer” (Napalm)

Featured Video

RICH DAVIS Premieres “Dr. Me…” Video

RICH DAVIS Premieres “Dr. Me…” Video

Latest Reviews