MINISTRY To Release 13th Studio Album In September

June 18, 2013, 2 years ago

hot flashes news ministry

Al Jourgensen, six-time Grammy nominated godfather of industrial metal, will release his band MINISTRY's 13th studio album, From Beer To Eternity, on September 6th via 13th Planet Records. Pre-order info will be posted soon on Ministry's Facebook.

As fans of the band know, after last year there wasn't going to be another Ministry album, but as Jourgensen put it recently, "I had no choice."

Sessions for what would become From Beer To Eternity began last December at Jourgensen's 13th Planet compound in El Paso, TX with Jourgensen (who produced the album, composed the music and wrote the lyrics for all 11 songs), guitarists Mike Scaccia and Sin Quirin, drummer Aaron Rossi and bassist Tony Campos. Rough tracks for 18 songs were finished on December 19th, and three days later, the 47-year old Scaccia died from a heart attack he suffered onstage while playing a live show with his band Rigor Mortis in Dallas, TX. Jourgensen, Quirin, Rossi and Campos were absolutely devastated.

"We have never, in the history of Ministry, ever had a tracking session like that before," states Jourgensen, "everything went so smoothly, it was surreal. And Mikey was so on fire and inspired, and really a driving force for this record."

After returning from Scaccia's funeral in Dallas, and shouldering the weight of grief as well as the desire to honor his fallen comrade, Jourgensen locked himself in his studio with his engineer and co-producer Sammy D'Ambruoso for three excruciating months.

"There was no choice," Jourgensen says of the bittersweet production process. "During the tracking sessions, Mikey was smiling and going, 'You know what, Al? This is by far and away the best Ministry album we've ever done together. This is awesome.' I'm super proud of From Beer To Eternity because it's my tribute to Mikey's incredible talent, and I feel it honors him and all of the years we spent together making music."

From the schizophrenic opening cut, the sarcasm-dripping, sound effect-laden 'Hail To His Majesty (Peasants)' to the thrash-punk riffs andbooming bass reverberations of 'Punch In The Face', to 'Change Of Luck', a song that Jourgensen wrote directly about Scaccia's death, From Beer To Eternity pulls no punches, sounding at once familiar, yet completely fresh and inspired. The release also includes 'Side F/X Include Mikey's Middle Finger / TV4,' which old school Ministry fans will recognize as a continuum in a series of TV songs that began in the mid-1990s, and underscores Scaccia's birthright as one of the greatest metal guitarists in the world.

'PermaWar', the first single from From Beer To Eternity, will drop digitally via iTunes in late July as a three-track maxi single. Additionally, 13th Planet Records will be releasing special products for From Beer To Eternity, including a Special Limited Edition Digipak with 13 tracks, a special FanBox edition, as well as vinyl and limited edition 12" inch picture discs.

Ministry will support From Beer To Eternity with a cavalcade of music videos, off-the-wall "making of..." digital clips, and an on-going "dog-blog" commentary by Jourgensen's two Labradors, Lemmy and Ozzy, who were present every step of the way during the recording and mixing of From Beer To Eternity, and have launched their own Facebook page to tell the tail. Uh, tale.

In addition to From Beer To Eternity coming in September, July 9th will see the release of Jourgensen's authorized biography, Ministry: The Lost Gospels According to Al Jourgensen, penned by Jourgensen with Jon Wiederhorn on DaCapo Books.

"Ministry is a memoir both ugly and captivating, revealing Jourgensen as a man who lived a hard life his own way without making compromises."

Ministry have released an EPK (Electronic Press Kit) for their upcoming live title, Enjoy The Quiet - Live At Wacken 2012, out on August 2nd via 13th Planet.

The brainchild of Al Jourgensen, Ministry is the genre-bending/blending sonic bomb that knocked the world off its feet, turned it on its ear and in the process forever changed the music industry.

1992's album Psalm 69, featuring 'N.W.O.', 'Just One Fix' and 'Jesus Built My Hotrod', forever changed music with its heavily aggressive content. After 27 years of performing, Jourgensen decided to end the band in 2008, and since then stated that a reunion would never happen. However, on August 7th, 2011, a reunion was announced, when Ministry confirmed that they would play one of their first shows in four years at the Wacken Open Air festival in August 2012.

On December 23rd, 2012, long time Ministry guitarist Mike Scaccia died of a heart attack. Ministry - Live At Wacken 2012 was his final performance with the band, and possibly the final Ministry live performance ever. Ministry released a new studio album on their own label in June 2012 which accompanied Al Jourgenson’s written history of all the bands and millions of albums sold worldwide.

Enjoy The Quiet - Live At Wacken 2012 tracklisting:


'No “W“'

'Rio Grande Blood'


'99 Percenters'

'Life Is Good'



'New World Order (N.W.O.)'

'Just One Fix'


Bonus Disc - Live at Wacken 2006:

'Fear Is Big Business'

'Señor Peligro'

'No "W"'

'Rio Grande Blood'

'The Great Satan'





'New World Order (N.W.O.)'

'Just One Fix'


'Khyber Pass'

'Psalm 69'

Featured Audio

LACUNA COIL - "Delirium" (Century Media)

LACUNA COIL - "Delirium" (Century Media)

Latest Reviews