TIM BOWNESS Unboxes Butterfly Mind Album; Video

July 18, 2022, 4 weeks ago

news classic rock tim bowness

TIM BOWNESS Unboxes Butterfly Mind Album; Video

Tim Bowness returns with his seventh solo album, Butterfly Mind, due for release on August 5. Produced in conjunction with long-time collaborator Brian Hulse, and mixed & mastered by Steven Wilson, this new album is his most eclectic release to date.

Bowness unboxes the album in this new video:

Written and produced by Tim and Brian Hulse (from Tim’s Liverpool-based 1980s Indie band, Plenty), "Only A Fool" is a dramatic and driving post-punk flavoured electro-rock piece about the dehumanizing and divisive nature of social media discourse. Uncompromising and accessible, grand yet direct, Bowness says of the song, “Lyrically and musically, it’s a sometimes fractious and sometimes playful exploration of contradictions.”

The track features Magazine’s Dave Formula on synth and piano and a rhythm section comprising Richard Jupp (ex-Elbow) and Nick Beggs.

Tim’s seventh solo album - his sixth for InsideOutMusic / Sony - features the rhythm section of Richard Jupp (ex-Elbow) and Nick Beggs alongside a spectacular guest list including Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull), Dave Formula (Magazine), Peter Hammill (Van Der Graaf Generator), Martha Goddard (The Hushtones), Gregory Spawton (Big Big Train), Mark Tranmer (The Montgolfier Brothers / GNAC), Saro Cosentino (Franco Battiato), Italian Jazz musician Nicola Alesini, US singer Devon Dunaway (Ganga), Stephen W Tayler (Kate Bush) and, marking his first studio work with Tim for nearly three decades, former No-Man violinist Ben Coleman.

Butterfly Mind will be available as a Limited 2CD Edition (incl. alternative mixes and outtakes), as well as a Limited Edition 180g LP+CD featuring a striking die-cut artwork by Carl Glover. Burning Shed have an exclusive green vinyl edition, and you can pre-order here.


"Say Your Goodbyes, Pt. 1"
"Always The Stranger"
"It's Easier To Love"
"We Feel"
"Lost Player"
"Only A Fool"
"After The Stranger"
"Glitter Fades"
"About The Light That Hits The Forest Floor"
"Dark Nevada Dream"
"Say Your Goodbyes, Pt. 2"
"Say Your Goodbyes, Pt. 1"
"Always The Stranger" (Alternative Mix)
"It's Easier To Love" (Alternative Mix)
"We Feel" (Alternative Mix)
"Lost Player" (Alternative Mix)
"Only A Fool" (Alternative Mix)
"After The Stranger" (Alternative Mix) / Extended Version
"Glitter Fades" (Alternative Mix)
"About The Light That Hits The Forest Floor" (Alternative Mix)
"Dark Nevada Dream" (Alternative Mix)
"Say Your Goodbyes, Pt. 2" (Alternative Mix)
"Clearing Houses"
"Always The Stranger - Raw"
"Lost Player - Primitive"

"Dark Nevada Dream" video:

"Always The Stranger" lyric video:

Featured Audio

EINHERJER – “West Coast Groove” (Napalm)

EINHERJER – “West Coast Groove” (Napalm)

Featured Video

THIRTEEN GOATS - "Return To Ruin"

THIRTEEN GOATS - "Return To Ruin"

Latest Reviews