JOE LYNN TURNER Travels To Greece’s Vikos Gorge For SUNSTORM’s “Edge Of Tomorrow” Video Shoot

April 6, 2016, 5 years ago

news hard rock joe lynn turner sunstorm

JOE LYNN TURNER Travels To Greece’s Vikos Gorge For SUNSTORM’s “Edge Of Tomorrow” Video Shoot

Legendary hard rock vocalist Joe Lynn Turner (Rainbow, Deep Purple) recently travelled to Vikos Gorge in northern Greece to film a video for the song “Edge Of Tomorrow” from his Sunstorm project with director Menelaos Sykovelis. The track is the title cut of Sunstorm’s fourth album, out in May.

Regarding why he chose Vikos Gorge as the location for his new video, Joe said: ““Edge Of Tomorrow” is basically a lyric about the apocalypse that’s happening right now and the geopolitical situation in our world. So I came to Greece, and I came to Vikos canyon, the deepest and longest canyon in the world, the canyon of the Gods. This is where all of civilization started. With the golden eagle that Zeus would use and have on his hand, he flies with us. He represents the freedom that people should have instead of the enslavement which the world has become from the geopolitical powers.”

He continued: “When I spoke to the producer and director, Menelaos, who, actually, his name comes from the king of Sparta… He’s a visionary and an incredible artist, and he knew that this particular location was where we should do this, where we should show the world what is happening in symbology, in symbolic form.

“So watch this video, set yourself free and know that Vikos canyon, the canyon of the Gods, is here for you. See the spectacular, most amazing place on Earth.”

Sunstorm’s fourth album, Edge Of Tomorrow, will be released on May 13th. The album track “The Sound Of Goodbye” is streaming below.

Sunstorm is Joe Lynn Turner's succesful AOR / melodic rock project, something that came about for the first time in 2006 when Frontiers President Serafino Perugino wanted to dig up some unreleased gems that JLT wrote during the late 80’s and early 90’s.

The very good reviews and acclaim which surrounded the debut self-titled release was the fuel that ignited three more records, until the project was momentarily shelved when Joe started working on the Rated X supergroup with Tony Franklin and Carmine Appice.

After the release of the Rated X album, Joe wanted to go back to the more melodic material of Sunstorm, but also wanted to retain some of the harder edge which the Rated X album had. So he asked producer and songwriter Alessandro Del Vecchio (Hardline, Edge of Forever) to come up with some new songs in that vein. Del Vecchio joined forces with Simone Mularoni, guitar player of Italian prog metallers DGM. Together they developed songs which were exactly what Joe wanted, so it was a natural process to move forward and record another Sunstorm album. As usual, other songwriters, such as Soren Kronqvist and Daniel Palmqvist completed the array of individuals involved.

Joe Lynn Turner says: “This new Sunstorm album is the best of the series! We went harder... stronger... and heavier than ever before without losing the integrity of what the project is about... I call it Melodic Metal! The songs are very well crafted, the messages are profound, the performances amazing… and the sound is incredible! All involved can be very proud of such a great music. I urge anyone who loves great music to check out Edge Of Tomorrow, you won't be disappointed!”

The resulting album shows a slightly new direction for Sunstorm, which still features organic and very strong melodies as a trademark.

Edge Of Tomorrow tracklisting:

“Don’t Walk Away From A Goodbye”
“Edge Of Tomorrow”
“Nothing Left To Say”
“Heart Of The Storm”
“The Sound Of Goodbye”
“The Darkness Of This Dawn”
“You Hold Me Down”
“Angel Eyes”
“Everything You’ve Got”
“Tangled In Blue”
“Burning Fire”

“The Sound Of Goodbye”:

Sunstorm lineup:

Joe Lynn Turner - Lead Vocals
Alessandro Del Vecchio - Hammond organ, keyboards, backing vocals
Simone Mularoni - guitars
Nik Mazzucconi - bass
Francesco Jovino - drums

Featured Audio

HYPOCRISY – “Children Of The Gray” (Nuclear Blast)

HYPOCRISY – “Children Of The Gray” (Nuclear Blast)

Latest Reviews