PAIN OF SALVATION Announce In The Passing Light Of Day North American Tour

December 20, 2016, 4 years ago

news heavy metal pain of salvation

PAIN OF SALVATION Announce In The Passing Light Of Day North American Tour

Swedish progressive rock/metal innovators, Pain Of Salvation, have announced North American tour dates in support of their upcoming studio album, In The Passing Light Of Day, which will be released on Friday, January 13th via their longtime label partners InsideOutMusic.

North American dates:

7-11 - Tampa, FL - Mexico - Cruise To The Edge
12 - Tampa, FL, The Orpheum
14 - Houston,TX, The Scout bar
15 - Dallas, TX,  Gas Money
16 - Kansas City, MO, The Riot Room
18 - Chicago, IL, Reggies
19 - Detroit, MI, The Token Lounge
21 - Toronto, ON, Mod Club
22 - Quebec, QC, Le Cercle
23 - Montreal, QC, Le Tulipe
24 - Buffalo, NY, Iron Works
26 - New York, NY, The Marlin Room

European dates:

29 - Copenhagen, Denmark) - Amager Bio
30 - Hamburg, Germany) - Markthalle
31 - Berlin, Germany) - Columbia-Theater

1 - Prague, Czech Republic - Rock Cafe
2 - Reichenbach, Germany - Art Rock festival V
4 - Aschaffenburg, Germany - Colos-Saal
5 - Pratteln, Switzerland - Z7
6 - Milan, Italy - Circolo Magnolia
7 - Lyon, France - Ninkasi Kao
8 - Barcelona, Spain - Bikini
9 - Madrid, Spain - Teatro Barceló
11 - Paris, France - Divan Du Monde
12 - London, UK - Islington Assembly Hall
14 - Venlo, The Netherlands - Grenswerk
15 - Leiden, The Netherlands - Gebr. De Nobel
16 - Zwolle, The Netherlands - Hedon

The band recently launched In The Passing Light Of Day's first single, “Meaningless”. A stunning video produced by Joakim S. Hammond and Love Fagerstedt for Lynx Pictures can be seen below. You can also listen via iTunes and Spotify.

Says the band: ”We feel very proud to release the first video for the upcoming album, In The Passing Light Of Day. Love and Joakim and the entire film team have made a tremendous work. In it, you will also see some wonderful Pain Of Salvation fans, whom we want to send extra warm thanks to! Let the journey begin, into the passing light of day. Enter MEANINGLESS."

Working together with acclaimed producer Daniel Bergstrand (In Flames, Meshuggah, Strapping Young Lad, etc.) at Dugout Studio in Sweden, the band have crafted an album that sees them returning to their much praised heavier sound, featuring the syncopated rhythms, glorious melodies, and intensely personal themes that Pain Of Salvation fans have long loved about the band.

Inextricably linked to the near fatal illness that band-leader Daniel Gildenlöw spent much of the first half of 2014 recovering from, the album is an altogether darker and more impassioned journey. Taking the hospital bed as a narrative hub, the lyrical and musical themes touch on all the conflicting feelings that run through a person's mind when presented with the prospect of death and the passing of life.

Gildenlöw comments: "What started off as an annoying infection has, in just hours, suddenly pivoted into the very real possibility of my actual dying." That's not to say, however, that all this record presents is blackness. "This album also shows the beauty of the transition, of the inevitable. And of the hope of a tomorrow, the hope of change, no matter how frail and naive that hope may be."

In the past six years since the release of Road Salt Two, fans hope for new Pain Of Salvation output has truly been tested. But their perseverance, as well as that of Daniel Gildenlöw and his band, has been rewarded with perhaps the most stunning album of their career.

The album will be available as a special edition 2CD Mediabook (including expanded 48-pages booklet, several in-depth texts by conceptual author Daniel Gildenlöw, demo material & band commentary tracks), standard jewelcase CD, gatefold 180g 2LP vinyl plus album on CD as bonus & digital download.


“On A Tuesday”
“Tongue Of God”
“Silent Gold”
“Full Throttle Tribe”
“Angels Of Broken Things”
“The Taming Of A Beast”
“If This Is The End”
“The Passing Light Of Day”
A brief album teaser can be seen below:

Pain of Salvation lineup 2016:

Daniel Gildenlöw - vocals, guitars
Ragnar Zolberg - guitars, vocals
Daniel D2 Karlsson - keyboards, backing vocals
Gustaf Hielm - bass, backing vocals
Léo Margarit - drums, backing vocals

(Photo - Lars Ardarve - Photographer)

Featured Audio

HYPOCRISY – “Children Of The Gray” (Nuclear Blast)

HYPOCRISY – “Children Of The Gray” (Nuclear Blast)

Latest Reviews