SOULFLY Premier “Sodomites” Lyric Video Featuring NAILS’ Todd Jones

July 30, 2015, 7 years ago

news heavy metal soulfly

SOULFLY Premier “Sodomites” Lyric Video Featuring NAILS’ Todd Jones

On August 14th (worldwide) metal icons Soulfly will release their 10th studio album, Archangel, via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. The band have released a lyric video for the track “Sodomites”, featuring Todd Jones (Nails) on guest vocals.

“I wrote this track about the wrath God which struck down Sodom for their sinful behavior,” commented legendary frontman Max Cavalera. “I used quotes from the Old Testament in some of the lyrics. It was also really exciting to work with Todd from Nails on this track since I’m a big fan!”

”I am so proud to be releasing Soulfly’s tenth album,” comments founder/vocalist/guitarist Max Cavalera. “I feel it is my most mystic album since Prophecy. The guest collaborations have always been a trademark of Soulfly and Archangel is no different! We can’t wait to play this live for the worldwide tribe!”

In regards to the band and the album cover, artist Eliran Kantor states: "I've been a fan of Max's music ever since discovering Beneath The Remains in high school. When my wife and I got married 'Territory' was even played at the dance party part of our wedding. Max asked me to do a traditional piece depicting Archangel Michael - and I tried to go beyond the straight-up neo-classical style as that has been perfected centuries ago, so I mixed in Soulfly's own visual world: hence the wings and spear being shaped like the Soulfly tribal icon, the cliff with the ocean view just like on the first record, and the Brazilian flag being the core of it's color scheme."

Archangel was produced and mixed by Matt Hyde (Slayer, Behemoth). Check out the tracklisting for all formats and list of guest performers on the album below. Pre-order Archangel in a bundle or by itself in multiple formats and from this location

Archangel tracklisting:

“We Sold Our Souls To Metal”
“Sodomites” (feat. Todd Jones of Nails)
“Ishtar Rising”
“Live Life Hard!” (feat. Matt Young of King Parrot)
“Bethlehem’s Blood”
“Mother Of Dragons” (feat. Richie Cavalera of Incite, Igor Cavalera of Lody Kong, Anahid M.O.P.)

Bonus Tracks for CD/DVD Special Edition:

“You Suffer” (Napalm Death cover)
“Acosador Nocturno”
“Soulfly X”

Bonus DVD: Live At Hellfest 2014 (Special Edition Only)

“Cannibal Holocaust”
“Back To The Primitive”
“Seek 'N' Strike”
“Rise Of The Fallen”
“Roots Bloody Roots”
“Jumpdafuckup/Eye For An Eye”

“We Sold Our Souls To Metal” lyric video:

In-studio trailers:

Part 1:

Part 2:

Soulfly have announced a UK tour to precede the release of Archangel. Max Cavalera comments, "I'm thrilled about the upcoming Soulfly tour! For the first time in the UK, I will be playing with both of my sons, Zyon and Igor (of Lody Kong)! You probably will never see this lineup again! I am also excited to play something from my new release, Archangel! I'm looking forward to seeing the Tribe there!"

Soulfly UK dates include:

25 - London, England - O2 Academy Islington
26 - Cardiff, Wales - Globe
27 - Birmingham, England - O2 Academy 2
28 - Manchester, England - Club Academy
29 - Sheffield, England - Corporation
30 - Stoke On Trent, England - Sugarmill

Tickets are on sale now from box offices, all usual agents and online via or



Soulfly will embark on a monumental North American headlining tour starting September 30th in Los Angeles, CA. Joining them on this epic campaign are Swedish melodic-death metal visionaries Soilwork, Polish technical death metallers Decapitated, and hot newcomers Shattered Sun.

“This is a great package and brutal lineup,” commented Max. “I personally am a fan of all these bands and it’s an honour to have them touring with us! See you in the pit!”

Confirmed dates:

30 - Los Angeles, CA - Fonda Theater

1 - San Francisco, CA - Regency Ballroom
2 - Portland, OR - Hawthorne Theater
3 - Seattle, WA - Studio Seven
4 - Vancouver, BC - Rickshaw Theatre
6 - Kelowna, BC - Level Nightclub
7 - Edmonton, AB - Starlite Room
8 - Saskatoon, SK - O'Brian's Event Centre
9 - Winnipeg, MB - Park Theatre
10 - Minneapolis, MN - Amsterdam
11 - Joliet, IL - Mojoes
12 - Des Moines, IA - Val Air Ballroom
13 - Cleveland, OH - Agora Theater
14 - Toronto, ON - Opera House
15 - Montreal, QC - Corona Theater
18 - Columbus, OH - Northland Performing Arts Center
19 - Pontiac, MI - Crofoot Ballroom
20 - New York, NY - Gramercy Theater
21 - Baltimore, MD - Ottobar
22 - Knoxville, TN - The International
23 - Atlanta, GA - Masquerade
24 - Ft Lauderdale, FL - Culture Room
25 - St Petersburg, FL - State Theater
27 - Houston, TX - Scout Bar
28 - Austin, TX - Empire Control Room
29 - Dallas, TX - Gas Monkey
30 - Albuquerque, NM - Sunshine Theater


Featured Audio

BEHEMOTH – “Thy Becoming Eternal” (Nuclear Blast)

BEHEMOTH – “Thy Becoming Eternal” (Nuclear Blast)

Featured Video



Latest Reviews