CHEAP TRICK Drum Legend BUN E. CARLOS Talks Rock Hall Induction – “It Was Fun To Get Up And Do A Few Tunes Again With The Other Three Guys”

June 18, 2016, 5 years ago

news hard rock cheap trick bun e. carlos

CHEAP TRICK Drum Legend BUN E. CARLOS Talks Rock Hall Induction – “It Was Fun To Get Up And Do A Few Tunes Again With The Other Three Guys”

Original Cheap Trick drummer and 2016 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Inductee Bun E. Carlos will release his new solo album, Greetings From Bunezuela!, on June 24th via SPV Recordings in Europe. The collection features 13 rock songs, 11 of which are covers, including “Armenia City In The Sky” (The Who), “Idea” (Bee Gees) and "Tell Me" (The Rolling Stones).

When asked on his thoughts on Cheap Trick’s Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame induction earlier this year, Carlos told the Long Island Pulse, “I was honored to be inducted. A lot of fans really pushed for this and tried to make it happen. It was fun to get up and do a few tunes again with the other three guys. The four months before were kind of hectic and I’m glad it’s done.”

Asked about his current relationship with the band, Carlos remarked, “The other three guys of Cheap Trick, we are cordial when we are in the same room together. And that’s about as far it goes.”

The album features Robert Pollard (Guided By Voices), Xeno (original Cheap Trick vocalist), Hanson, Alejandro Escovedo, Dave Pirner (Soul Asylum), John Stirratt (Wilco), Nicholas Tremulis, Alex Dezen (Damnwells), Rick Rizzo (Eleventh Dream Day), and members of Candy Golde and the Monday Night Band.

Listen to the cover of Paul Revere & The Raiders' "Him Or Me" featuring Hanson:

The first single, “Do Something Real,” features Robert Pollard on vocals, and is a remake of a solo Pollard song that was released in 1999. The song is available now digitally.

Carlos is the drummer for the legendary rock band Cheap Trick, drumming countless hits like “I Want You To Want Me”, “Surrender”, “Dream Police” and “If You Want My Love”.

In 2009, Bun E. Carlos joined Tinted Windows with Hanson singer Taylor Hanson, former Smashing Pumpkins guitarist James Iha, and Fountains Of Wayne bassist Adam Schlesinger. The critically acclaimed power-pop band released an eponymous record and played several shows. In 2011, Bun E. Carlos joined Candy Golde with Nicholas Tremulis, John Stirratt (Wilco), Rick Rizzo, (Eleventh Dream Day), and Mark Greenburg (The Coctails). Candy Golde released a 5-song EP, 10” record, debuted at SXSW, and still record and perform, though sporadically.

Greetings From Bunezuela! tracklisting:

“Do Something Real” (feat. Robert Pollard)
“Armenia City In The Sky” (feat. John Stirratt)
“Him Or Me” (feat. Hanson)
“I Love You No More” (feat. Alex Dezen)
“Tell Me” (feat. Alejandro Escovedo)
“It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry” (feat. Dave Pirner)
“Let The Mystery Be” (feat. Xeno)
“Idea” (feat. Robert Pollard)
“Les Cactus” (feat. Nicholas Tremulis)
“I Can Only Give You Everything” (feat. Rick Rizzo)
“Slow Down” (feat. Alejandro Escovedo)
“Count On Me” (feat. Xeno)
“I Don't Mind” (feat. Alex Dezen)

(Photo - Matthew Bowie)

Featured Audio

SAXON – “Carpe Diem (Seize The Day)” (Silver Lining Music)

SAXON – “Carpe Diem (Seize The Day)” (Silver Lining Music)

Featured Video

CAVEAT Premieres “Infinite”

CAVEAT Premieres “Infinite”

Latest Reviews