DEATH ANGEL To Release New Live Album, The Bastard Tracks, In November; "Where They Lay" Live Video Posted

October 21, 2021, a month ago

news heavy metal death angel

DEATH ANGEL To Release New Live Album, The Bastard Tracks, In November; "Where They Lay" Live Video Posted

Bay Area thrash legends, Death Angel, have announced plans to release a new live record, The Bastard Tracks, on Black Friday, November 26 via Nuclear Blast. Recorded live at The Great American Music Hall in their hometown of San Francisco on May 22, 2021, and streamed live soon after, The Bastard Tracks is a deep cuts collection of rarely and never performed songs from the band's celebrated catalog that will be released digitally and on CD, Vinyl and Blu-Ray. Pre-order here.

Commenting on the record, vocalist Mark Osegueda states: "When we performed and filmed the songs for The Bastard Tracks it was such a crazy time and having missed being able to perform live for so long was taking it’s toll on me to a certain degree as I have been a live performer for the majority of my life. I must say, it was a pretty dark time. I know it was for so many of us... But! Music once again helped to pull us through it. It was a bit odd performing to no crowd. But! It felt great re-learning some deep tracks and getting on stage with the guys and unleashing this pent up aggression! And the response from everyone who tuned into it suggesting that we release it as an album was overwhelming! Well… Thanks to them here it is! I hope you enjoy it!”

Adding to that, guitarist Rob Cavestany says: "Choosing and sequencing the songs for The Bastard Tracks set list was quite a different trip. All of them had rarely (and in some instances never) been played live. We hadn’t performed in front of a live audience for over a year, the longest ever for this band. It was to be filmed live at The Great American Music Hall in San Francisco and then broadcast worldwide on the good ol’ inter-web! I could get into that... From basically re-learning most of these songs to getting them as tight as they should be, we put our energy together and made it happen! I’m thankful for having had this goal to focus on during those (still) crazy earth crisis days. It gave us an important reason to get together at DA Studio and JAM! Literally the only time I’ve felt “normal” since 2020 was while we were jamming! Fortunately we’ve been able to do it a lot. Now, we proudly present the audio and visual recordings of those sessions. Turn it up! P.S. - We cannot wait to exchange live energy with you as soon as possible!!"

Today, the band has revealed the record's first single and live music video for "Where They Lay".

Osegueda says of the new track: "'Where They Lay' is a prime example of a Death Angel Bastard track! We have rarely played this song live and I’m guessing the last time we did was 2010! I love the release I get singing this song. Namely because the screaming bits I do are so cathartic!!! And I need a release during these crazy times! And screaming is one of my favorite ways to get frustration out of my system!! I look forward to screaming in front of a live audience again soon!”

Cavestany adds:  "Rise! This empowering message echoes thru the entire song from the first note to the last. 'Where They Lay' is one of our pure thrash cuts with those chugging riffs, pounding grooves and vicious lyrics that incites head banging and thrashing! It’s so fun to play on guitar, I love the percussive, rhythmic attack and the solos are so twangy. I’m stoked to include it in the set and to launch it as the first single from our upcoming release The Bastard Tracks."

Watch the video below:

Death Angel will perform shows throughout the fall and winter, including their 2022 run on The Bay Area Strikes Back Tour featuring Testament and Exodus. Tickets are on sale here.

Death Angel tour dates:

27 - Oakland, CA - Fox Theater

9 - San Luis Obispo, CA - Fremont Theater
10 - Anaheim, CA - House of Blues
12 - San Diego, CA - House of Blues
13 - Las Vegas, NV - House of Blues
15 - Tucson, AZ - Rialto Theatre
16 - Albuquerque, NM - Sunshine Theater
19 - Oklahoma City, OK - Diamond Ballroom
20 - Houston, TX - White Oak Music Hall
21 - Austin, TX - Emos Austin
22 - Dallas, TX - Amplified Live
23 - New Orleans, LA - House of Blues
26 - Atlanta, GA - The Masquerade - Heaven
27 - Raleigh, NC - The Ritz
30 - Sayreville, NJ - Starland Ballroom

1 - Baltimore, MD - Baltimore Soundstage
2 - Boston, MA - House of Blues
3 - Philadelphia, PA - Theatre of Living Arts
5 - Huntington, NY - The Paramount
6 - Buffalo, NY - Town Ballroom
7 - Covington, KY - Madison Theater
9 - Pittsburgh, PA - Stage AE
10 - Cleveland, OH - Agora Theater & Ballroom
11 - Columbus, OH - Newport Music Hall
12 - Detroit, MI - Majestic Theatre
14 - Joliet, IL - The Forge
17 - Minneapolis, MN - Skyway Theatre
19 - Denver, CO - Summit Music Hall
20 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Depot

Featured Audio

HYPOCRISY – “Children Of The Gray” (Nuclear Blast)

HYPOCRISY – “Children Of The Gray” (Nuclear Blast)

Latest Reviews